We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome, Good breakfast but disappointing room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze House

Sea Breeze House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze House to your Saves list
Sea Breeze House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   51, St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely welcome, Good breakfast but disappointing room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a really great friendly welcome. The owners couldn't do enough - suggesting places to eat etc. The place was a little out of the way - not quite in the centre of Ilfracombe as I had hoped. The room was a little dated but clean. It had everything you could wish for but really due a refurb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NettyDevon, Owner at Sea Breeze House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We always welcome and are grateful when our guests manage to take the time to add a review. We have concluded from your comments that on the whole you enjoyed our hospitality and great breakfast. We are slightly confused with your other comments regarding the room requiring an update?
We never claim to be an ultra modern guesthouse as we advertise ourselves as a traditional elegant accommodation. All of the pictures of each of our rooms and bathrooms are available on our website which you would have viewed? so we are not sure why you were disappointed?
With regards to the location, may we suggest for any of your future trips that you investigate thoroughly on the internet where a place is located. This information is easily accessilble and this may save you any future disappointment.
We are sorry but there are no immediate plans to refurb the room to your requirement, as many previous guests have enjoyed what we offer, so we think in this case we will go with the majority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
70
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay in this exceptionally warm, friendly B & B. Richard and Annette are more than happy to advise, even offering to book a table at a restaurant for us!! Facilites in the room are again very good, mini bar with snacks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Couldnt have picked a better place to stay,Richard and Annette made us so welcome,from the first day helping us with our bags,to the excellent breakfasts,it was a pleasure to return each day.Our room on the top floor was worth the climb as it was bright and spacious.A nice touch was the little fridge in the room with not only fresh milk ( a novelty compared with the usual little pots),but also it doubled as a mini bar at reasonable prices.All guests could also take advantage at the end of the night to have a drink in the small bar hosted by Richard.They recommended both places to eat and also local taxis and seemed generally pleased to have us stay with them.They definitely deserved their courtesey certificate! Do give them a try,well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very very Nice People. Richard and Annette go out of their Way to make you feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay very much and felt at home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were a little apprehensive about our stay at first as the weather forecast was not great but we soon put that behind us - Richard and Annette made really good recommendations on
places to visit and see. Thanks to their helpful suggestions and knowledge of the local area, we had some fabulous days out and ate at the best restaurants in Ilfracombe so this made a real difference.
The accomodation itself is very comfortable and clean, and has a well-stocked bar with a cosy, classic feel. The choice of foods available at breakfast is excellent and the room has its own mini-bar, hairdryer and snacks. The Guest house is also well situated, being both close to public transport, and local amenities - We had a great stay and the Guest House owners went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly - We would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Short break was needed by my husband and I, we found this B & B on the internet and booked there and then. Hosts Annette and Richard were fantastic, always had time for a chat, suggesting where to go to dine.
So much choice for Breakfast and making decisions wasn't easy!
Parking on site and also walking distance from town
Rooms were very clean, with mini bar (you write down what you've had and leave money in dish) plus chocolate bars/peanuts/sweets and crisps, also fresh milk in fridge to make your tea/coffee (great idea)
Would definately come back if we had the chance

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the guest house for 2 nights and it was lovely. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfy, we stayed in room 9 which was plenty big enough. Breakfast was very tasty especially the american muffin! The licensed bar is also enjoyable for a nice relaxing drink in the evening.
The ownsers are very friendly and welcoming and have good knowledge of all the good restaurants etc
We will look forward to returning in the summer this year. Would definatly recommend this guest house to others as we had a delightful and chilled out stay!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze House

Address: 51, St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive Victorian, Licensed guest house with its own private car park is within walking distance of Ilfracombe town, harbour, beaches, restaurants, the theatre and nightlife.Beautiful beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton Sands are a 10 minute drive away.Richard & Annette offer you the perfect retreat from life's stresses and strains and offer you a friendly but discreet service.If you are searching for a high quality bed and breakfast accommodation offering a comfortable and friendly stay, then Sea Breeze House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sea Breeze House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.