We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dorchester Guest House to your Saves list
Dorchester Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   59 St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding at The Tunnels. We were made to feel really welcome as soon as we arrived, they had also allowed us to check in early to allow us time to get changed for the wedding. Our room was lovely,,spotlessly clean and really spacious. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leusden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A lovely guesthouse where we stayed 2 nights with my family. Julienne was a perfect hostess. We could park our car in front of the house. We had two rooms on the first floor. A specially the room on the front was lovely and spacious. Hope t o come back to walk the coastpath. Jan Mülder

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Julienne was lovely. Accommodation was spotless. Room had every necessary amenity. Breakfast was delicious. Price was highly competitive. Location was perfect. What more could you ask for...........the complete package.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

A lovely place to stay. Everything was spotless, the room a great size and julienne the owner cooked a fantastic breakfast. Lots of extras like a fridge with fresh milk and a fresh bottle of water each day. Drinks and snacks could also be purchased either from your room or in the guest lounge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Excellent premier room ,clean with TV, fridge mini -bar, hot drinks, biscuits ,and many other little extras. Delicious breakfast served by Julienne who could not have been more helpful.Just could be a problem for anyone with mobility problems as there are quite a lot of steep steps.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in February 2014 on a very impromptu visit to Ilfracombe. We didn't book in advance so Julienne only had about 10 minutes to get everything ready for us! You couldn't tell though as the whole house was perfect.

We chose the premier room which is very spacious and has a huge bed and walk-in shower. There's lots of little extras in the room too including toiletries, hair dryer, TV and DVD player, selection of hot & cold and alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks, crisps & nuts etc. The house itself is beautiful, with an honesty bar in the living room (just tell her what you've had at the end of your visit and pay for it then). There's also a collection of DVDs that you can take up to your room to watch.

We only stayed long enough to have 1 breakfast there but there were many options to choose from and what we had was delicious (I would highly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on an English muffin).

We would definitely return, thanks for a great stay Julienne!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Only stayed at the Dorchester for one night, but we will return. There is nothing you can fault here, we received a warm welcome from the owner Julienne, who showed us to our room. We booked a premier double and it was. A large clean room with a large en suite bathroom which had a truly massive walk in shower. The large comfy bed was a delight. There was complementary tea and coffee and a fridge in the room with a flask of fresh milk and various beverages from soft drinks to wine and beer, all at a very reasonable price unlike, how you usually get ripped off by big hotels. The was a large flat screen TV/DVD player and a selection of DVD's you could borrow free of charge from the lobby. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was excellent. I am Coeliac and have to eat a gluten free diet, Julienne provided gluten free toast at no extra cost. Down stairs are a delightful dining room and guest lounge with a well stocked self serve honesty bar. Five star treatment and accommodation but not at silly five star hotel prices. Thank you we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorchester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Guest House

Address: 59 St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorchester Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester is a tastefully restored Guest House. We have been accredited with a 4 Star Silver Award and a Breakfast Award. We are a short walk from the historic Tunnels Beaches and seafront. We offer Free Parking and Free Wi-Fi throughout.. Ilfracombe's Town Centre, pretty seafront and harbour and historic Tunnels Beaches are a short walk away. The elegant, stylishly furnished rooms at The Dorchester feature Flat Screen TV, DVD Player, hairdryer, generous hospitality tray and a small fridge stocked daily with fresh milk and a selection of wines, beers and soft drinks. Guests may also make use of free W-Fi and our new Guest Lounge.Breakfasts are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce, and are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Recently achieved a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain. Fully licensed, there is a range of wines , beers and spirits available.The beautiful Exmoor National Park is 15 minutes drive away, whilst Ilfracombe Golf Club is just 5 minute drive. The pretty harbour, Blue Flag Tunnels Beaches, restaurants and shops are within walking distance. A bus stop directly outside the guest house can take guests to Barnstaple, Bideford and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dorchester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Guest House Hotel Ilfracombe
Dorchester Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.