We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be repaired and modernised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ilfracombe Holiday Park to your Saves list
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Marlborough Rd, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs to be repaired and modernised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked this park as a 'Sun Holiday' weekend as we generally like the North Devon area. Although we normally upgrade our accommodation, on this occasion we didn't. We were quite surprised at how stark and basic the accommodation was. This particular park has chalets and apartments rather than caravans. Our chalet consisted of a tiny living area which included a very uncomfortable sofa bed, a drop-leafed table, a TV with 8 channels, an old electric cooker, a fridge with a broken freezer section, a microwave, a sink and a draining board. No work space for preparing food. There were 3 electric sockets in the living area. One for the kettle, one for the wall heater and one for the TV. No spares. Off the sitting room was a small hall area leading to a bathroom (no shower) which was adequate, but had evidence that damp patches had been painted over and part of the ceiling paint was peeling off. Also off the hall was the bedroom which was like a child's room. The three-quarter sized bed was up against a wall so one of us had to shimmy down the bed to get up! The bed was not at all comfortable, but this was not the worst thing. As we were packing up to leave and putting our clothes in our case, the clean clothes that we had not worn were very damp. They felt slimy and cold and smelled musty. Clear evidence that there was damp in the chalet. We would definitely not return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    102
    52
    53
    95
See reviews for
191
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this site through the sun holidays and so paid around £70 with gas and electric. Didn’t pay the extra for linen, so took own duvet covers and pillow cases. We go very basic normally, so was expecting a bronze caravan – pretty basic usually, but upon arriving was told by a nice bloke that we’d been upgraded to an apartment and it was great. 2 beds (double and 2 singles), wet room fully sorted for disabled people PLUS A DISHWASHER! Heating in all rooms and very very warm in there - had to turn the heating down and it was pretty cold outside. We stayed at John Fowler in combe martin last year and it was quite sparse and very quiet, but this one had a great indoor pool with OK showers, a big clubhouse, big dancefloor, crazy golf – which had seen better days but was great for my 6 y/o daughter. The staff are lovely, very friendly and even though extremely quiet there, they brought everything out at the disco for my daughter and a toddler who was also there. Really nice people. Nice location and very close to Ilfracombe, easy to find and well kept. We had a problem with the shower during the first day and it was fixed within a couple of hours. Restaurant also there and one across road too, but we didn’t eat at either. Happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked a 4 night stay here through sun holidays without reading any reviews first. After reading so many negative reviews, I was very worried about what our accommodation would be like. We stayed in a budget chalet, which was very basic, quite small and a bit like walking into a time warp to the 1960's (which was quite charming in its own way). I was very pleased&relieved to find that the place was clean - all surfaces, insides of drawers, tops of cupboards, crockery&cutlery was clean. There was some rust in the microwave and on fridge door, but overall things were in ok condition. Bathroom was clean and mould free, but no shower. It was a bit annoying having to sit in the bath and wash my hair with a jug, but no big deal really. There was plenty of hot water and a heater which was sufficient for heating whatever room you were in (living room or bedroom). The kitchen was ok for making basic stuff (sandwiches, toast, pizza), but u couldn't have cooked a proper meal for a family in there as there was only one tiny bit of work surface, just barely big enough to put the toaster on. The TV was indeed tiny with only 3 channels, but I don't come on holiday to watch TV, so I didn't care.

The club room was nice, but there was a small arcade/games area in the same room, which was a bit annoying whilst watching the entertainment. The entertainment was aimed more at families, so not really right for us as a young couple, but that is to be expected at a park like this, so we weren't surprised or disappointed. We found a great bar in town called the chill bar that had really good live music, so that was better for us.

The pool and sauna were nice, but I felt a bit sorry for the kids as it was all very serious - no inflatables or snorkels or jumping in allowed. We thought the crazy golf was funny -it was situated practically on the doorstep of some apartments and consisted of a few unimaginative grey concrete holes. We thought it made an amusing obstacle course for people coming home drunk in the dark trying to get to those apartments.

Ilfracombe itself is lovely with some great eating places. I would recommend the Italian and the tapas place. We also went on two great day trips to the dinosaur&wildlife park (best zoo type place I have ever been) and the big sheep.

Overall I would say I have no complaints as a sun customer paying just under 100 quid for 4 nights, but I can see why those paying full price are so upset as I don't feel it's worth any more than what we paid. We really just used the place as a base to sleep and eat lunch as there wasn't enough to entertain us on the park. Not as bad for us as other reviews suggest, but just pretty average really. If your looking to book a holiday at a park in the area I would suggest woolacombe bay holiday park. We have been there 3 times and will be going back next year. It has loads of free activities (tennis, table tennis, golf, crazy golf, snooker, darts etc) and a fun pool with a slide plus an amazing spa and stunning views across the whole park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

With regard to the accommodation, no doubt you noticed that the park is in the midst of a complete rebuild. Many of the older chalets are being demolished and replaced with new apartments. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I am appalled at the negative comments that people have aboutjohn fowlers at ilfracome everyone can voice there opoion so here's mine we are staying in a royal gold apartment the apartment is great really big plenty from yes bed was a bit uncomteble but after first night you get used to it I tryedto open window and the handle came off we called reception and and they came out within 5 minutes no problem it was fixed staff are blooming marvelous and so are the office staff let's not forget them who dose all the booking and things all staff were very polite the entertainment manager brain well what can I say surperbe manager and stripe coats do a very god job with the kids also making sure that they talk to adults aswell fantastic park can't fault them but as I will say you need to come and find out foryourselfs but I am enjoying myself and everyone is great well done johnfowlers at ilfracome xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

Our returning guests are so important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Entertainment very good and friendly staff. Nice swimming pools. Bronze room in need of updating. The room did not smell nice at all and took some getting used to after purchasing and using a lot of febrese!

Overall, nice break!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We are looking into your concerns in order that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests. Meanwhile, so that the issues can be investigated, I will be contacting you through the Tripadvisor messaging service to discover the full details of your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I am currently on holiday here with my family and ive been reading thr negative comments on here and im sorry I have to say that they dont deserve any of those comments at all we have been comming here for years and its amazing all the stripeys are fab bryan is the best ents manager this park has had and does a great job with his team and keeping everyone of all ages entertained every day and a special shout out to stripey becky she has only been here a short time yet she is doing great shes so happy and friendly goes and talks to everyone when she can your amazing becky well done just believe in yourself more you can do it. As for accommodation its fab we have a royal gold apartment and nothing wrong at all nice big space all rokms have decent space nothing wrong and even when we broke the handle of the window I rang reception and maintainance were there within 5 mins and all fixed all staff here are very polite and have no problem with any of them were all entitled to our oen opinion but please if your thinkjng of comming here try it for yourself and make up your own minds I promise you that you wont be disappointed at all well done ilfracombe john fowlers xxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very disappointed. A very poor standard of accommodation, have never stayed within a park a poor as this. The 'chalet' was tiny, roughly the size of a decent garage, none existent kitchen space, dreadful bed, you feel every spring, 60s bathroom with no shower ( a real issue for me), and the bed linen, well, you have to see it to believe it!
My husband and I stayed 1 night ( we had booked and paid for 4) then left asap the following morning, despite driving for 8 of 24 hours, we just could not stay here a second longer. Very, very poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Address: Marlborough Rd, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ilfracombe Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ilfracombe Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.