We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room-Excellent,food-fantastic,sevice impeckable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands

The Woodlands
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands to your Saves list
The Woodlands
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
1 review
“Room-Excellent,food-fantastic,sevice impeckable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a wonderful weekend in ilfracombe.and this b and b made it even better.ilfracombes a lovely place and ghis is set close enough to the action,but out the way enough to be quiet and relaxing.

Christine,Christopher and Robin do a fantastic job keeping the rooms clean and cooking to a very high standard.Theyre also extremely friendly.very helpful and keen to keep you happy.

The room itself had everything you need for a short break away, and was very clean and tidy.

The gardens really are the gem of the building and surroundings.long garden with loads of trees and open spaces and plenty of pretty plants ,flowers and even a running stream at the bottom

.i actually think you could charge non-guests for garden use

thankyou all

we will see you again

Leah & leigh barrett (room 1)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Woodlands Hotel and had the most fantastic stay there. On arrival we were greeted by the welcoming smile of Christine (the lady of the house). We were shown to our room which was beautiful, spotlessly clean and had a stunning garden view.
Everything was so nicely arranged in our room with complementary tea, coffee and biscuits well stocked daily. At breakfast time we met Christopher (such a genuine guy) who again made us feel extremely welcome and relaxed with his friendly down to earth chats and had a genuine interest in what we had planned for the day. The choice at breakfast time was amazing and prepared by Robin (who I did ask to come home and live with us so that we could enjoy his cooking all year round). Sadly he declined. Nothing was to much trouble for the hosts and they were always happy to help. If you are looking for a friendly, clean and homely place to stay, then this is the place to be!!!! See you again very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 with a bed the size of a tennis court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGHLAND LAKES
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lucked into this place after two nights up the street at a place that didn't have room for us to extend our stay for a night. Wandered in here and WOW! what a bit of luck. Friendly , helpful hosts. We were in room 8 and although smallish, it was so clean, nicely decorated and well appointed that we were very comfortable. Check the chest of drawers for a thoughtful selection of glassware in clouding wine glasses. Also, a nice selection of teas was appreciated. Loved the balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. These were really special-- I could have happily spent a whole day or more just enjoying them. Clearly much loving work has been done here. A beautiful crystal clear steam runs through the bottom and there is a patio, seating area from which to enjoy it. Just exquisite. Garden is staffed by a VERY friendly cat - and I'm a dog person but this girl was so sweet! Breakfast was very good served in a lovely sunny room, again nicely appointed. Nice lounge with a balcony for reading and plenty of tourist info. Short easy walk (10 min?) to the tunnel beaches which are not to be missed. Another 10 down to the harbour area. I have only 2 small negative comments: 1) parking is challenging. I actually had a travel companion do it for me because I never could have done it myself. 2) i didnt care for the skeleton type keys for the rooms as this seems a bit of a safety issue for me in the unlikely event of getting out in an emergency. Aside from that great place highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 19th July. We were made to feel extremely welcome on arrival and each morning a friendly chat. They were genuinely interested in what were up to and came up with suggestions to make to stay more enjoyable. We stayed in a de-luxe room (4) which has a large bed and fantastic views of the gardens. The whole area is so quiet at night that it is hard not to get a good night's sleep. Nice people working hard to give everyone a happy stay.

Room Tip: We chose the de-luxe room as it has a bigger bed and an all round larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

a very nice, clean and tidy hotel,a warm welcome on arrival, very clean and tidy bedrooms.
good standard of breakfast. well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at The Woodlands, Ilfracombe. The Hotel is immaculate with excellent facilities. We stayed in Room 10 which had lovely views of the gardens. It is situated a few minutes stroll from Tunnel Beaches up a slight hill - perfect location if you're attending a wedding there. The owners were lovely people who took excellent care of us and made a cracking breakfast! We would definitely stay there again, rather than being on the busier, more cramped main stretch of standard B&B's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. The owners were as welcoming and accomodating as you would wish for. Breakfast was on the simple side but throroughly enjoyable - the full English was superb and freshly cooked. Room was very comfortable and bed good to wake up in. Only concern was that some of the furniture was not really up to scratch - including a table and mirror that required the user to kneel on the floor! With a good eye and at modest cost the room would benefit from a furniture uplift. Guest lounge first class. Car parking very tight but road space close by. Excellent location for those attending a wedding at Tunnel Beaches - as we were - and if peace and quiet is on the agenda. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask about space and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly and helpful team here who are always ready to ensure that you enjoy your stay in our clean and peaceful Guest House. Whether for a romantic escape or an activity break you will find the Woodlands an ideal place to unwind. You can be sure of comfortable accommodation. The building was recently refurbished to a high standard and provides modern facilities without losing its victorian charm. All bedrooms are en suite with television and tea and coffee making facilities, most have garden views and some have balconies. We have a range of accommodation to suit your needs :- twin, standard, premium, deluxe doubles and a family suite for four. For a romantic break see our four poster Deluxe Room. We will be pleased to arrange flowers, chocolates, champagne for you on your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.