We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wildercombe House to your Saves list
Wildercombe House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ann-Marie and Barry gave me the honour of installing blinds in several locations throughout this fine hotel, The refurbishment of the property was amazing, no expense spared and the building is as magnificent inside as it is outside.
The fixtures and fittings are of the best quality and the place is disabled friendly. I would and have recommended the hotel to my friends and anyone else for that matter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
73
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and were made most welcome and upgraded to room 4. The room size, facilities and bathroom were all excellent, although it would have been nice to have 2 armchairs in the room.
The public rooms are impressive and the bar cosy, but perhaps the billiards table would be better sited in the entrance hall and the lounge made into a cosier place.
Dinner was the real disappointment: we had to book and choose our main course in advance and chose each of the only 2 fish dishes. We were shocked that the vegetables were frozen peas and sweetcorn and the fish (tuna and salmon) was sprinkled with dried dill; there was no sauce. For around £14, these main courses were poor value and uninspired. Breakfast was good with perfectly poached eggs, but the yoghurts were long life, made in Germany, the toast from a standard, medium loaf.
The South West is a foodie heaven (we live there) Wildercombe House is missing a trick by not sourcing more food locally and using fresh seasonal fish and vegetables: Yeo Valley yogurts and Miles tea and coffee are available from just up the road in Somerset.
Ann Marie has 'service' just right and was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. We might stay again, but we would eat dinner out next time!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Anne-Marie and Barry Marsh are a lovely, helpful and friendly couple, who know how to look after their guests. The standard of their accommodation is first class and it was a pleasure staying in their wonderful house. The food was excellent and I had a great time staying with them.

My en-suit room was of the highest standard and even had bath robes provided; I was very impressed and lucky to have stayed in such a lovely place.


If you want to stay in good standard accommodation then look no further, I sincerely hope I can return here in the future. Thank you for your hospitality and company during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Barry & Anne Marie are perfect hosts. Wildercombe is clean, fresh and calming with excellently proportioned rooms. The house retains much of its period features but in a modern contempary way.
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Thankyou for the hospitality

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Clean, tidy, friendly, amazing breakfast. Good understanding of business visitors including 7 am breakfast. Quiet room and slept really well. Lovely welcome and relaxed atmosphere. enjoyed the druids fliud beer. Thank you Ann-Marie

Room Tip: just relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Everything was just perfect : warm welcome, beautiful house, quite & comfortable room, very nice furniture and decoration, wise advices for restaurant, efficient service (taxi, calls, ...), awesome breakfast, excellent beer...
I just hope to come back for private vacation !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stay quite frequently in ilfracombe as we have friends their so we try and stay at a variety of places but wildercombe by far tops the lot! Welcoming hosts, immaculately clean in every room, modern but cosy... Our room was fab! We loved the slate wall in the bathroom. The only thing we had trouble with was the plug in the bath (didn't work) but the hosts were very accommodating and resolved this as soon as they could. Breakfast was lovely a huge range of fruits, breads, cheeses etc as well as a delicious range of cooked foods. This was yum! Bar the bacon being a little under done for my taste. Already we have recommended to friends and family to stay at this hotel and we plan to book another stay in the summer months :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Address: St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildercombe House is a fully restored former Victorian Gentleman's residence, in the coastal town of Ilfracombe, North Devon, England. For the second consecutive year Wildercombe House has been awarded a 5* accredited rating as Guest Accommodation, a Gold Award for 'exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service' , and Level M3A under their National Accessible Scheme by VisitEngland. Wildercombe House offers luxury family-run guest accommodation, with panoramic sea and countryside views offering 10 en-suite bedrooms, including 3 disabled friendly (DOC M) compliant suites, all with luxury fixtures and fittings, secure hardwired internet access and free Wi-Fi, and HD Freesat TV (including 'BBC iPlayer/On-Demand' TV). With private car park, level access throughout all public areas, and stairs and/or lift access to bedrooms, choose from super-king to a single bed, with options of travel cots and pull-out beds for the children, or our family suite. Evening meals are available if required, together with a full range of services to suit the needs of the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildercombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.