We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wildercombe House to your Saves list
Wildercombe House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a really special place, totally unique in my opinion as it is a very traditional house with many original features, but beautifully renovated to a very high, modern finish.

The fittings and fixtures are high quality and well balanced with the house and the cleanliness throughout was excellent.

I was offered an evening meal - which I couldn't have as I had an engagement - but the full English breakfast the next day was superb, the best one I've had for a long time.

I felt welcomed and appreciated from the moment I arrived, right up to departure, its an absolute diamond. So much better than generic hotel rooms, this place is 5 Star!

RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
73
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Took my parents for long weekend. Dad is 93 and Mum disabled. We were looked after as if we were very special guests, but so is every one. The food is fantastic hospitality wonderful and rooms a 5 star hotel would be proud of. Thanks Anne - Marie and Barry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The building was totally refurbished a year ago and it shows. No cost was spared in the decor or the facilities and fittings while retaining the quality feel of a spotless country house. The couple who own and run the hotel provide an extremely efficient, while not too obtrusive, service with an eye on detail throughout.

The property is accessed by a short, narrow and quite steep driveway which proved challenging, although not impossible, for our motorbikes. The hotel is set back a little and well above the main road providing privacy and security.

We have nothing but praise for our 1 night stay in Wildercombe House. It was a very pleasant and totally relaxing stay at a very reasonable price. If we were to stay in the area again, we would not hesitate in booking early at this hotel to ensure a reservation.

Room Tip: We overlooked a small central courtyard which acts as a laundry drying area This didn't detract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very pleasant staff, comfortable stay, no complaints at all. Staff have really placed the comfort and convenience of guests as their utmost priority. Very immaculate lodgings as well. And they offer triple rooms for a very reasonable price, breakfast included. Thank you Wildercombe house, best wishes, Dilane!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Family trip for our daughter's wedding and from the moment we first made our booking enquiry Anne-Marie and Barry could not possibly have been more helpful and accommodating. Initially chosen for excellent disabled facilities but needs of party age range 2 to 87 all taken into consideration. Stunning setting and beautifully renovated property.

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic, amazing en suite facilities. Stunning views from room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Wildercombe House for 2 nights at the end of June 2013 for a friends wedding near by. The building has been tastefully done up to a very high standard and the owners should be very proud with what they have achieved. The owners were incredibly pleasant, helpful, considerate, chatty and nothing was a problem or too much effort.
The cooked breakfast was excellent and i was impressed they remembered everybody by their first name.
I was even more impressed with the new pool table and a beautiful 6 month old german shepherd...
It was a fantastic stay and i would recommend to anybody to stay here.

Room Tip: We (2 lads) stayed in the triple room which is also a disabled room. Really good size, excellent fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved our stay at Wildercombe house, it's a beautiful building and is done up to such a high standard. The hospitality was fantastic and the owners were so accommodating. We travelled with a 6 month old baby and booked an additional room for the baby sitter. Anne-Marie provided everything from the travel cot, changing mat, baby bath, baby monitor, high chair, she even prepared a baby friendly breakfast. The breakfast and dinner was delicious too. They couldn't do enough for us, we haven't experienced such brilliant hospitality for quite some time. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I emailed in advance to find out more about the rooms and Anne-Marie was very helpful in helping me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Address: St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildercombe House is a fully restored former Victorian Gentleman's residence, in the coastal town of Ilfracombe, North Devon, England. For the second consecutive year Wildercombe House has been awarded a 5* accredited rating as Guest Accommodation, a Gold Award for 'exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service' , and Level M3A under their National Accessible Scheme by VisitEngland. Wildercombe House offers luxury family-run guest accommodation, with panoramic sea and countryside views offering 10 en-suite bedrooms, including 3 disabled friendly (DOC M) compliant suites, all with luxury fixtures and fittings, secure hardwired internet access and free Wi-Fi, and HD Freesat TV (including 'BBC iPlayer/On-Demand' TV). With private car park, level access throughout all public areas, and stairs and/or lift access to bedrooms, choose from super-king to a single bed, with options of travel cots and pull-out beds for the children, or our family suite. Evening meals are available if required, together with a full range of services to suit the needs of the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildercombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.