We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wildercombe House to your Saves list
Wildercombe House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“A rare gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wildercombe House was like a home away from home. Especially for frequent business traveler like me who found this place an absolute wonderful surprise. The house was nicely renovated inside with many modern upscale facilities which are not normally found in B&B. The outside of the house kept its majestic pose overlooking the adjacent slopes and the nearby Ilfracobme. The amentities/cleanliness is superb... and most commendable is the gracious service / caretaking of our hosts Anne-Marie and Barry. It was great waking up to a busy morning to the fresh and wonderfully prepared (and variety) of breakfast items. I certainly look forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
73
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We really didn't think it could be as good as the reviews but it was and much more!! The welcome was lovely with tea and biscuits in the drawing room, our room couldn't have been better and the food was delicious, and everywhere was absolutely spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble, even to sourcing gluten free products for me. Anne-Marie and Barry we wish you every succes that you so rightly deserve. Keep cooking those steaks Barry!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The house itself has been totally updated. It maintains its victorian charm while coming into the 21st century! The guestrooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are modern. Guestroom number 6 has a shower that talks to you!

The bed was extremely luxurious. Huge flat screen TV. Very comfortable. I have stayed in many hotels, motels, bed and breakfasts in the past 40 years, this was my favorite! The reception of Ann Marie made us feel special and welcome, you feel like guests in their home, but with privacy.

I forgot my perscription and Ann Marie phoned a local doctor so I could get a weeks supply until I got home. You don't get that kind of attention at a hotel chain!

The Ilfracombe area is very scenic. A 15 minute walk down the hill and you are in the town with shops and cafes. Tunnels Beach is right there next to the harbor.

Caution: The guestroom charge is per person which was unexpected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We feel extremely lucky to have found such a special place for our honeymoon break! With all the planning of our wedding we had not booked a break away afterwards and frantically was searching the internet just two days before wanting to travel. After a long search we found Wildercombe House and cannot believe we found such a beautiful and amazing place.

We called straight away after looking at their internet page and spoke with Ann-Marie who was extremely helpful and understanding of our late search predicament, and she booked our room. When we arrived we were greeted with such a warm welcome and the most beautiful room with spectacular sea views over the beautiful Devon landscape. Furthermore, Ann-Marie and Barry had left us a congratulations wedding card, which we thought was so thoughtful and is just one of the ways that they go that extra mile with personal touches to make your stay so lovely.

What can we say, the room was fantastic and juxtaposed the charm and aesthetics of the old building with high ceilings and huge windows with contemporary living and really high spec bathroom. The building itself is full of grandeur and every detail has been carefully thought about with everything completed to such a high standard. I think this is the nicest place we have ever stayed and we have stayed in top hotels in many different countries. Ann-Marie and Barry have really gone as far as possible to provide a top end quality service but with personal touches that you won't find in any big hotel, the attention to detail is exemplary. You can really tell how much they care about their business and it shows with the work and love that has gone in to it.

The breakfasts were lovely and there is a cool little bar for evening drinks. We had a fab evening chatting with Ann-Marie and her family and some of the other guests, it was so friendly with such a great vibe.

We have never written a review on trip advisor but felt compelled to after this stay. If you like us, have high expectations and want to stay in the perfect place then book to stay here, you won't be disappointed!!! We will be back without a doubt and have already recommended Wildercombe to our friends and family.

We want to say a big thank you to Ann-Marie and Barry for helping make our honeymoon break away perfect!

Room Tip: Room 6 is amazing! You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here as a group of 10 people for a short family holiday and everyone had a wonderful time. The rooms are a fantastic size, as was the communal areas, with great views and the location is perfect. The hosts were lovely and went out of their way to make us feel at home. I'd definitely recommend this guest house for anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for the bank holiday weekend, and it was absolutely great. Beautiful 5 star guest house with warm and welcoming owners. Our room was gorgeous and attention to detail amazing. Our first visit to Ilfracombe, but certainly wont be our last! Breakfasts were really good with great choice of food. Lovely bar and living room too. Wish Anne-Marie and Barry every success in running it, they absolutely deserve it. Thanks again, and we hope to be back again next Easter for another visit. The gin and tonics Anne Marie brought us on Sunday afternoon hit the spot after our bike ride!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here last Monday with our 2 year old daughter. From the minute we walked in we were made welcome, and the room we stayed in was wonderful. The room was immaculate, modern and clean. The beds were amazingly comfortable too. We also had a delicious evening meal, and the service was unbeatable. Highly recommended to all, and we will definitely be returning. Well done Anne-Marie and Barry for the nicest place we have stayed :) - Katie, Michael and Daisy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Address: St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildercombe House is a fully restored former Victorian Gentleman's residence, in the coastal town of Ilfracombe, North Devon, England. For the second consecutive year Wildercombe House has been awarded a 5* accredited rating as Guest Accommodation, a Gold Award for 'exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service' , and Level M3A under their National Accessible Scheme by VisitEngland. Wildercombe House offers luxury family-run guest accommodation, with panoramic sea and countryside views offering 10 en-suite bedrooms, including 3 disabled friendly (DOC M) compliant suites, all with luxury fixtures and fittings, secure hardwired internet access and free Wi-Fi, and HD Freesat TV (including 'BBC iPlayer/On-Demand' TV). With private car park, level access throughout all public areas, and stairs and/or lift access to bedrooms, choose from super-king to a single bed, with options of travel cots and pull-out beds for the children, or our family suite. Evening meals are available if required, together with a full range of services to suit the needs of the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildercombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.