We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Break, thoroughly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Grosvenor Hotel
Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Break, thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a 2 star hotel, and is basic but spotlessly clean..could do with a refurb but that would more than double the price you pay!
You will not get the luxuries like in more modern hotels but nevertheless the service, staff and friendliness more than made up for this.
Nothing was too much for them to help you with.. The food was basic English traditional home cooked food.... A3 course meal, Set for 7pm... Served by very friendly efficient staff. The food was very well cooked and presented and enjoyable.
I personally enjoy having sheets and blankets on the bed as opposed to duvets and the bed linen was always fresh and clean.
Would thoroughly recommend and stay here again!
Thank you to everyone at the hotel, that made this a relaxing, enjoyable stay. X

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    86
    76
    57
    52
See reviews for
26
189
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Things this hotel needs to do are as follows...
New televisions in the room with freeview as a minimum.( only 5 channels available...the whole country has freeview now..why not at this hotel?)
Clock radio in the room.
Duvets instead of old fashioned blankets and sheets.
More substantial door locks.
Redecoration throughout.
Supply shower and shampoo toiletries ( none in my room at least )
A much bigger menu choice.
Reprint hotel Info pack...mine stated dinner was at 7 pm on day of arrival then 6 pm after that...in fact dinner was at 7 pm every evening....7 pm is too late for most people.
Do something about the seagulls on the flat roof at the back of the hotel...loadsof seagull poo on the window sills and on some windows.

Room Tip: Struggling here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for the first time for a short week end bargain break,Wendy and Raynor [the owners] and the staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, light, spacious and the bed was comfortable and clean,The breakfast was very good and we had entertainment on both nights, what more could you wish for unless you are snobby and want a 5 star for 2 star prices. We will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 218 it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

just returned from a 4 day break 21st april to25th .clean but needs updating photo's on web site make it more grand than it is ,our room was clean but bedding could be better ie duvet and not tatty blankets although clean the bar lounge has a dance floor but not a ballroom as described the stage looks massive but is like a postage stamp.breakfast ok evening dinner nothing to shout about not hotel quality can get better in local cafe pork two nights or omlett /spag bol or curry/cottage pie chef not put much thought into his menue it may be different in summer months? would not pay full price for this hotel,but on the plus side its on the flat and the staff go all out to please there guests just a pity they have not got something better to work with

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night KGB break. We did not expect much as we paid well unde £100 for a 2 night DBB. We were welcomed and chatted to by all staff. The food was adequate and not much choice, but delicious and a clever way for the hotel to keep costs down. All food was cheerfully served, hot and sufficient. Large party of Coach trippers but also very friendly. The room was small but clean with en suite and tea making facilities...little TV perfectly adequate to watch. Entertainment every night...really enjoyed Alan the 60s singer and guitarist

Overall we felt welcomed and would certainly do it ll again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We got a group-on deal so wasn't expecting 5* luxury.

Staff were all very helpful, friendly and attentive.

Rooms were in my opinion very very dated. Really needed some new duvet covers, blankets & modernising. We had holes in our duvet, carpet was a little shabby and so was furniture but it was clean. However, our bed was so uncomfortable, my husband and I are was in agony each morning. So so soft and bouncy, we both fell into the middle. This is the reason I would never go back!

Breakfast was ok, very basic food & ingredients, but ok.

I would NEVER pay full price but what we paid was ok.

Had a love break in Ilfracombe... Gorgeous seaside town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i have just returned from a two night stay in this hotel. Staff were all very friendly, pleasant and helpful. Our room and bathroom were very warm and clean. The food was excellent and service very quick.The location is fantastic. We had an excellent experience could not fault anything about it and will definately return to the Grosvenor hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.