We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Grosvenor Hotel
Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Oxford
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Planned as a post-Christmas "blow-away-the-cobwebs by the sea" break. Room clean and tasteful, but VERY small; narrow double bed (4'6"? and short - feet extended over the end), ungiving mattress, sheets and blankets rather than duvet, and we didn't sleep well. Tiny shower, no complimentary toiletries other than small bars of soap, no hair dryer. The evening meal was value for money, but reminiscent of a filling school dinner, with limited uninspiring choices: soup/risotto/juice, then chicken breast and gravy with potatoes, peas and carrots; or an omelette, or a third option that I can't remember; crumble, ice cream or pear belle helene; good selection of cheeses; coffee - all cooked OK, but unexciting in the extreme - and part of the joy of being on holiday is to have delicious, interesting meals. The breakfast basic but tasty: selection of cereals and tinned grapefruit; choice of cooked options. Not the home-from-home we had hoped for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    86
    76
    57
    52
See reviews for
26
189
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We took up a Groupon offer and when we arrived it was raining heavily the staff were great helping us with our bags showing us where to park and suppling an umbreller. Had a good laugh will eldery people who had come for turkey & tinsel. The room was basic but that was what we expected the full english breakfast was good which set us up for a days walking. The tourist information is nearby and we found a great pub for real ale and skittles in the town called the Ship & Pilot, Ilfracombe is a nice town to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We only stayed 2 nights and found the staff to be really pleasant and effecient, there was a coach of elderly people staying and the had some good entertainment for them which I also enjoyed .The fancy hat parade was a laugh the winners hat was brill.
thanks for a nice stay Kath and Glenn.

P.S the museum is well worth a visit one of the best I have been to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

On arrival we were welcomed warmly and invited to join in with the competitive skittles game the staff were organising. The buffet dinner with wine, booked in advance and enjoyed on the evening we arrived, was good quality for the money with lots of choice and if we had realised we would have been back for seconds before everything was cleared away. The entertainer was a good guitarist who performed music for those who would remember The Shadows, Billy Fury, Buddy Holly etc, but he also included more modern rock and roll style songs and had everyone up and dancing. This is a traditional larger family hotel without lifts so you need to be fit if on the third floor and our room was a little tired though well appointed and we both slept well. Full English breakfast in a friendly atmosphere set us up for a day exploring the local area, Lynton being a particularly picturesque destination. This was a good base for our 2 day break, but we can also see why it attracts coach trips for those of more mature years as the staff provide a raft of in-house entertainment to those looking for a longer winter holiday destination.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We purchased our stay at the hotel via a Groupon offer, in hindsight i should have known it was too good to be true and eprhaps there was a reason rooms were being offered at such discounted rates.

I called the Hotel on the day to confirm our reservation and to advise we would not be arriving until late on the Friday evening (this i thought was courteous) however the woman on the phone (who i later found out was the owner) was rude.

Upon arrival, after a 6hr journey we walked into the hotel which had a 'Faulty towers' feel. A lone DJ was playing music to a group of guests in their seats. It really was comical, still each to their own. The Bartender who doubled as receptionist in the evening (may explain why we did not get an answer when calling to locate the hotel) was very plesant and helpful, having been advised by a friend the rooms with baths were just baths and no shower attachment, i requested a room with a shower. We were given this room after being advised 'i should have requested when i booked as it would be lots of trouble to change'.

There was a small lift and stairs to out room on the second floor. The room smelt musty and simply felt dirty. Upon pulling the sheets back a couple of long dark hairs were found in the bed. The shower was unappealing, so much so that neither my partner or i had a shower until returning home on the Sunday). The pillows were like cardboard and the springs in the matress dug into our back. This room clearly needed a refurb.

After a sleepless night breakfast the next day was nice. many options however for a vegetarian the only option is to leave out the sausage and bacon. Still eggs on toast was available.

After a lovely coastal walk a several glasses of wine i managed to steal a few hours sleep however my partner hardly slept. We checked out at 6,30 am and headed home.

I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

spent couple of nights here recently nice clean and comfortable. food was good and all at reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just had 2 night weekend stay through Groupon. It was good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner one evening, again good value. Christmas decorations up already by Nov 4th which we thought was far too early. We were lucky to find parking in the road each night. Quite a few young people 30s amongst the guests - not all senior citizens. Found other guests quite loud, but that's our problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.