We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norbury House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norbury House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Norbury House Hotel to your Saves list
Norbury House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8A2, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Norbury House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A delightful small guesthouse with very friendly owners. Lovely rooms, excellent breakfast (fresh fruit - strawberries, melon, pineapple, blueberries) cooked breakfast to order - top quality food. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again if we travelled to Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    32
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
138
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently stayed at Norbury House for 2 nights with our 14 year old son and his friend.
We booked room 2 which is a double room with ensuite and has an adjoining twin bedded room with shower and wash basin.There is an additional bathroom very close by. The rooms were lovely and had a very welcome tray of tea,coffee,milk etc and a kettle.
Both rooms had really comfortable beds and a tv,DVD and playstation with
an extensive assortment of DVDs to choose from.
Both rooms were immaculate, and lots of fluffy towels and body wash/lotion were available in the ensuite facilities.
The breakfasts were superb with a good choice. Scrambled egg, full English breakfast ,croissants and muffins highly recommended.
What makes this place different to any other?
Basically it is the owners Paula and Adam who have worked out what people want when they are on a short break or holiday. Attention to detail, excellent service which is not over intrusive,
sensible,relevant advice regarding local restaurants and activities and a genuine feeling that they are enjoying what they are doing.The honesty bar is an excellent idea and for parents with children it is a perfect opportunity to spend a quiet hour at the end of the day.
Excellent website, easing booking, good communication prior to trip.
Thanks to Adam for advice regarding beaches,quad biking,horse riding, local tennis and putting green for the boys and an up to date local weather report!
We were made to feel very welcome and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Great welcome from the perfect Norbury House and a great stay. I was staying with two friends while we attended a wedding at the local tunnels and had a wonderful time in ilfracombe much of that down to the great advice on where to go and what to see from Paula.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Myself, my husband and two of our friends have just returned from a delightful three night stay at Norbury House. On arrival we were met by Adam, who asked us if we would like a drink after our very long journey. We were then asked if we would like to meet Bovril, Adam and Paula's beautiful Labrador, which we welcomed warmly as we are all dog owners/worshippers!!! He was peace itself and the epitome of good manners!!

Our rooms were very tastefully decorated and very homely, we felt at home the second we opened the door. The rooms all retain their Victorian features ,with contemporay decor which makes it stand apart from other hotels we have stayed at.

We enjoyed breakfast cooked to our liking on the first morning, and I have got to say that Adam made the most delicious mushrooms I have ever tasted!! The others enjoyed a full english which was superb and set you up for the day.

We met Paula on the Sunday and she also made a cracking breakfast, no complaints whatsoever. Two of the best hosts we have ever encountered on our many travels.

I can honestly say that we will be returning at some point, as hidden gems like this are hard to find.

Once again, thank you both so very very much, hopefully we will see you soon and I promise to pack my Satnav for the next time I stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft, very quiet and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel/guest house is a 5-10 minute walk to the Ifracombe town centre high street, cafes, restaurants and seafront. The building is Victorian but the rooms are tastefully decorated in a contemporay style. We stayed in room 5, first floor superior king. The room was spacious and warm with a single bed annexe room -cost 105 pounds per night including breakfast. The room had views across Ilfracombe to the sea. While parking on site is possible, it is a tight squeeze for more than two cars-however parking on the street is an easy alternative. The room had quality linen and a small clean bathroom. While only a minor complaint, shower gel is provided but there is no soap which was annoying from our point of view. Adam and Paula were friendly and helpful hosts.
As Norbury House does not offer evening meals, we would highly recommend a fairly new restaurant in town called "Relish" which is housed in a 14th century building with outstanding but reasonably priced food and also "Ristorante Italiano" for good honest Italian food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding at nearby Tunnels Beach. We really enjoyed our stay, as much for the little touches as the overall experience.

We were greeted warmly by the owners and swiftly offered tea & coffee which we drank on the delightful terrace. Inside the lounge is comfortable and sophisticated with an honesty bar and music playing in the background at all times. Both bedrooms were very comfortable, well-furnished and with decent en-suite bathrooms.

We asked for a recommendation for dinner and were pointed towards three local places. Unfortunately two were full and one wasn't quite right for us. Undeterred, Adam gave us another suggestion, a bit further away, which turned out to be exceptional.

Breakfast on both mornings was exquisite with an impressive selection of hot food, a cold buffet and affable, reassuring service from the owners.

All in all this is a great place, well worth the money, and strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Front of the house will give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Norbury House to attend a wedding at the Tunnels, which was very conveniently located just down the hill and about a 5 - 10 minute walk away. The B&B is in a lovely victorian hotel that has been decorated to a high standard - they have kept the period features but decorated with modern wall paper and furniture. Rooms were very clean, bright and airy. The hosts were lovely people and offered dinner suggestions and even booked a table for us when we failed to organise ourselves! They have a lovely labrador called Bovril who was extremely well behaved and had I read some of the other reviews before going, would have loved to have taken him out for a walk. We felt really welcome at the Norbury and would definitely return for another weekend away, should we get the chance.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a second small bedroom with a single bed attached so would be a great choice for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8A2, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ilfracombe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norbury House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.