We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coast walk from the garden gate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norbury House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Norbury House Hotel to your Saves list
Norbury House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8A2, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Coast walk from the garden gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here as our base for some coastal walks and sightseeing around Devon and Cornwall. Excellent position, you can access the coastal path via the back gate. Lovely rooms, comfy bed. Friendly, welcoming hosts with abundant local knowledge. Recommendations for dinner close by were spot on. Plus Maggie makes the best cup of tea!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    32
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
138
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Norbury House is set high up with great views over looking Ilfracombe and out to sea. Paula and Adam make you feel extremely welcome and you leave feeling like friends. We stayed in room 5, which was of a good size, very clean and comfortable, tea / coffee facilities, en suite, hairdryer, tv, dvd player, selection of dvd’s, fantastic views and an additional side room with single bed.

The lounge is very comfortable with an honesty bar with reasonable prices for beer, wine, spirits and soft drinks. The breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice, over and above what you would expect from a B&B!

There was one member of the Norbury House team that was exceptional towards the residents, that was Bovril the dog. He is very friendly and relaxed and extremely well behaved. We were over the moon when we were given the chance to take Bovril for a walk along the coastal path to the look out point.

If we ever returned to Ilfracombe there will be no question as to where to we would stay, the Norbury House is fantastic and that is thanks to Paula, Adam & Bovril! Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had an exceptional weekend in Ilfracombe. After a lengthy journey Paula greeted us with tea/coffee and biscuits, plus an excellent brief of the local amenities including restaurants and nice places for drinks. Our rooms were spacious and immaculate, with smart interior design. We fell in love with Bovril (aka Bov) the dog. He led us independently through the field of sheep to a scenic look out point - if we hadn't discouraged him, he would have taken us to the pub in Lee some three miles away! Both Paula and Adam are friendly and very approachable; Adam even took us to our restaurant in his car when taxis were unavailable. Thanks to you both, look forward to staying with you again. Please feel free to bring Bovril on his holidays to Scotland!

Room Tip: Room 4 is ideal for those who want a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We chose Norbury House as our hotel for the weekend of our wedding in Ilfracombe and were so glad we did, everything about it was friendly and relaxing. it just topped of what was an amazing weekend. Our first impression was arriving at 1am, to find a key layed out, welcoming lights on and a lovely congratulations card from Paula and Adam. From here on it only got better, waking up to a lovely view down over Ilfracombe and Paula and Adam who were great hosts, always happy to chat over a lovely breakfast, not to mention the odd pot of tea and biscuits when waiting for the AA to turn up and fix a friends car.
My one slight grumble was the shower in the room being a bit loose and having a slight mind of it's own, but this is to try and add some balance to a glowing review.
All of our friends are already suggesting that our anniversairy becomes a regular excuse for a weekend in Ilfracombe, which we're not arguing against and if this is the case we will definately be trying to find space at Norbury House first.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't remember how many times I've already stayed at Norbury House. I'm not having a "senior moment". It just confirms my view that it is such a welcoming, relaxing and comfortable place to stay, with each visit being as good as the previous one. A lovely dinner at Espresso and a further trip to restaurant heaven La Gendarmerie resulted in Maria and I spending another excellent weekend in Ilfracombe, and we look forward to making a further visit to North Devon later this year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

What a welcome! After a long and meandering drive down from leicesteshire to be welcomed by Paula, a pot of tea and biscuits and Bovril the beautiful black lab, we knew this was going to be a great stay.
Paula and Adam are great hosts, giving you as much help and advice on local area and eateries as possible. The hotel itself i lovely, beatuiful rooms, relaxed boutique styling with all the touches you'd expect from great hosts.
Really highly recommend the Espresso restaurant for seafood, and don't miss a trip to Damien Hurst's restaurant The Quay on the harbourside.

Room Tip: check the website to choose your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked a couple of nights in Ilfracombe to have as a base for exploring the local countryside. Norbury house is well-located and we were warmly greeted by Adam when we arrived. It really is a lovely building, and the owners have done an excellent job making it stylish and comfortable inside. Definite highlights included the lounge bar where we spent quite some time playing Trivial Pursuit, our comfortable bedroom, Bovril the dog, the expertly-cooked breakfast and the fact that we pretty much had the whole place to ourselves! One small let down was the shower in our room, with its intermittent hot water. At least there was a bath in an opposite room that we could use. We would certainly recommend Norbury House to anyone who is visiting Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8A2, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ilfracombe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norbury House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.