We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collingdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Collingdale to your Saves list
The Collingdale
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel. We are a group of male (senior) walkers who find this hotel a perfect place to stay to walk the North Devon coast. Our hosts were most helpful and provided comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfasts. Would recommend this hotel as a good value place to stay. Would not hesitate to stay again if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    44
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
122
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great place to stay would go back again, stayed in room 8, lots of stairs up to top that was the only down side to us would have been helpful to have been advised of this when booking.
Breakfast superb, Sharon was very very helpful
Wonderful bed, linen immaculate
Thoroughly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Cosy and beautiful guesthouse with great service. Good facilities and amazing breakfast. It has a nice view to the sea from the coast, and it's the perfect start for a coast to coast cycling weekend. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for one night and Sharon the owner greeted us on arrival and was really welcoming even recommending the best places to eat in the evening. We stayed in room 8 which is right at the top. Don't pick this room if you are likely to find the stairs a problem. The view from the room is amazing. The only downside is the bathroom and shower which is tiny. Shame really. Its an immaculate house, beautiful and spotlessly clean and breakfast was gorgeous. We will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Comfortable room with great view of the harbour and surrounds. Walking distance to restaurants for evening meal.

Sharon and Daryl made me feel so welcome and gave me so much infornation on places to see, I will be back.

Breakfast was outstanding. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night and we liked it so much we stayed another night. Sharon is a great host and nothing is too much trouble.

As other reviewers have said, the breakfasts are really very good indeed.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at the Collingdale. The rooms were very clean and well equipped with amazing sea views over the harbour. We were blessed with sunny weather every day so perfect for walks, riding and we even managed a bit of surfing despite the cold weather. Great breakfasts every morning and Sharon was incredibly helpful and welcoming. A really lovely break for all the family.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the harbour have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Collingdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale

Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star rated Victorian guesthouse, and are proud to have received an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views from our balcony view rooms across the harbour, Damien Hirst's statue 'Verity' and magnificent cliff top scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. We are just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Collingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collingdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.