We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collingdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Collingdale to your Saves list
The Collingdale
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have just spent three night at the Colingdale and can not fault it. A spacious room tastefuly decorated, excellent breakfast and an owner who really cared about her guests whilst remaining totally professional. She rang to check if the Lundy boat was running and rang again when we reached home to find out if the charger found in our room was ours. Parking might be an issue - but wasn't,

Room Tip: No lift - so ask to be on a lower floor if you don't want too mny stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    44
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
123
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family had a two night stay for a wedding at the Tunnels in Ilfracombe. Sharon could not have been more helpful in accommodating us and arranged a room on the first floor for my mother-in-law who has mobility problems. We also had a family room which was a generous size, and a double with fantastic sea views. A pot of tea on arrival after a long journey was a very nice touch along with a personal welcome from Sharon.
We didn't expect such a treat as haddock with poached egg as a breakfast choice, and the "Full Devon" breakfast was superb. Sharon also very kindly arranged transport for us all with "Rob's Taxi" to the wedding venue, who provided a very punctual and reliable service.
The Collingdale is tastefully furnished throughout and spotlessly clean. Our only regret is we didn't get a chance to try the single malt whiskey in the bar, maybe next time Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have recently spent a wonderful 3 night break with Sharon and Daryl at the Collingdale. It was really great! Very relaxed, very welcoming, lovely room and brilliant breakfasts! On the morning we left Daryl had just found out that The Collingdale had won an AA Breakfast Award. Well deserved! There was pleanty of choice to cater for all tastes, quality produce, beautifully cooked and presented. We will definitely return if we are visiting Ilfracombe and will recommend it to our friends. Thanks again for a lovely time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at The Collingdale. This was our third stay, and the accommodation and award-winning breakfast did not disappoint. We loved the welcome in Ilfracombe, and would also recommend the Relish Bistro and Tapas Bar on Fore Street.

Room Tip: Old Edwardian house with lots of stairs. If you can't handle too many, ask for a room on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A Fantastic mini break great breakfasts friendly atmosphere and very clean and well presented you were made to feel at ease straight away .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Collingdale, Sharon was an excellent host. We had an upper room with great views out to the ocean, and Ilfracombe was just a 10 minute stroll away.
Th rooms are clean and fitted to a very high standard. We will be coming again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Collingdale, Sharon and Daryl were perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome, without being too intrusive. The rooms are beautifully decorated with Laura Ashley wallpaper, and we loved all the ‘thoughtful’ extra touches. The standard of house-keeping was excellent too, and we were really pleased with the way our room was cleaned each day.

We chose a lovely kingsize room on the top floor and it was certainly worth climbing to the top for the fantastic views right across the harbour, we could even see right across to Wales on a clear day. The bed was one of the comfiest we had ever slept in and had lovely crisp white linen, it was also nice to have great big fluffy bath sheets as opposed to the usual small towels we have experienced in other B&Bs. Other guests have mentioned the parking, but we never experienced a problem, we stayed for 7 nights and managed to park on the street outside for free most days and only once had to park on the car park at the rear, which was actually free overnight so not a problem. Yes, there are lots of steps if you come in the back door, so not for the feint-hearted, but you can’t get such fantastic views without being in an elevated position.

Breakfast was an amazing experience with loads of choice on a buffet whilst waiting for your cooked breakfast, with fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, dried fruits and cereals. The full ‘Devon’ breakfast has to be up there as one of the best we have ever tasted, with thick cut bacon, free range eggs and really yummy sausages. Also tried the natural smoked haddock with poached eggs one morning which was excellent.

Ilfracombe itself was a gem of a place with a really pretty harbour and seafront and we were really surprised at the number of excellent restaurants. We would certainly recommend Restaurant 71 and Relish on Fore Street.

All in all, a brilliant stay, we shall certainly be returning and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room if you can and if you don't mind stairs the views from the top are worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Collingdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale

Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star rated Victorian guesthouse, and are proud to have received an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views from our balcony view rooms across the harbour, Damien Hirst's statue 'Verity' and magnificent cliff top scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. We are just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Collingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collingdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.