We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, would recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Ilfracombe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collingdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Collingdale to your Saves list
The Collingdale
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very friendly, would recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Ilfracombe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we entered, the views from the lounge and dining room were stunning but the best one was from our room, at the top of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of going to Ilfracombe, North Devon and you get access the internet in the lounge and bar, bargain :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    44
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
122
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Nice questhouse, well positioned, very friendly owner, very clean and superb breakfast. Excellent views from bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed here for one night and was met by Sharon on arrival who showed us around the building. We had a room on the top floor with a view of the harbour.

You can walk to the harbour in about 5 minutes where there are bars and restaurants.

The breakfast in the morning was also very good .

Would recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Get there early to find a parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights at the Collingdale. The Collingdale is a very tall terrace property. Access to the rooms is via the staircase only. There is no lift. We were met at the door by Sharon who not only shows you to your room but gives a comprehensive guide to local attractions and places to eat. There is a very comfortable guest lounge and a small but well stocked bar. Bedrooms are very clean and tidy. Fully serviced every day with all the expected toileteries. Book a room with a sea view if possible. Stunning views over the harbour and cliffs. 10 minutes easy walk via the harbour into town. Breakfast choice is very good. Try the kippers with a poached egg. Very yummy. Parking can be a problem as the Collingdale does not have a car park. Road side parking is available but is always busy. There is a nearby car park which needs a small overnight fee. Parking passes are available from the tourist information centre in town. Worth considering.
Would we visit again. Without doubt. All B+B owners should visit here and see how it should be.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The top floor room was very comfortable with a great view. Worth the walk up the stairs. Sharon was an excellent hostess who provided superb breakfasts for us-we certainly skipped lunch ! The pub opposite provided us with an excellent meal.

We found the walk into & back from town very easy.

We would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Breakfast excellent lots of choice view from room 6 beautiful looking over harbour great selection of refreshment including yummy biscuits all toiletries provided reasonably priced bar large relaxing lounge great hosts Sharon was so welcoming will be recomending to friends only snag was parking availabilty and a few stairs to climb overall a great experiance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was our 4th stay at the Collingdale. Sharon and Daryl always make you feel very welcome without intruding . The breakfasts are 1st class, no lunch is ever required! .
Its a beautiful 6 storey house with lovely views from the sea facing rooms. On our most recent stay we had the views over the hills to our right, the sea straight ahead and the harbour to our left. A lovely clean room with a good sized bed.
A beautiful lounge area is also available again with stunning views over the hills and sea just below.
Despite travelling all over the world we never feel more at home than when in Ilfracombe and statying at the Collingade plays a part in that. We will be back next year for the 5th time.
Linda and David Titterton

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Collingdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale

Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star rated Victorian guesthouse, and are proud to have received an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views from our balcony view rooms across the harbour, Damien Hirst's statue 'Verity' and magnificent cliff top scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. We are just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Collingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collingdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.