We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verity Statue

Verity Statue
Ilfracombe Pier, Ilfracombe, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 14 attractions in Ilfracombe
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unusual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Unusual but mesmerising! not to everyones taste but personally I could not take my eyes off it. Lovely at night when it is lit up & against the back drop of the sea...amazing sight!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    89
    52
    20
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Love it? Or hate it?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is a must see when visiting Ilfracombe.
It is going to divide opinion and I'm still not sure myself.
What I can say is it created such a talking point to our group of 9 and such different perspectives as to its symbolism.
Go take a look and form an opinion it is quite staggering.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I'm not the type of person who normally reviews a piece of artwork as everyone has a different opinion and whether you read a positive or negative review you really should go and make your own mind up. For me, this piece is empowering and makes a fantastic statement piece for Ilfracombe. It livens up the pier and is giving everyone who visits Ilfracombe something to talk about. Surely this is a good thing for the town, whatever you think of the statue itself!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We saw this monument when we took our children to Ilfracombe harbour. My kids were in awe of the size of it. It sparked a fantastic discussion on what our children thought it represented and fired their imagination. Worth a look!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wierd but you have to look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Not really the thing you expect on the end of a pier harbour on the north Devon coast. I can't say I liked it or hated it as it was one of those things you just have to see if in area. Lady in B&B said it was there so we popped down after checking out at 8.45am. As it was early, parked next to statue and walked around it. Wasn't as gruesome as I expected. Bigger than expected. Stayed for 10 mins then went to beach at Woolacombe. See it if you're down that way but don't make too much of a special journey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verity Statue also viewed

 

Been to Verity Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verity Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Verity Statue to your Saves list