We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynbay Fish and Chips

Lynbay Fish and Chips
6 The Quay, Ilfracombe, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
South Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

What more can I say freshly cooked Fish and chips they even tell you which boat caught the fish. Perfect batter the fish just melted in your mouth. The best!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    37
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The fish looked as though it hardly touched the batter. Ditto for the battered sausage. V greasy chips and the portion sizes were pretty small. The disinterested staff seemed more engaged with the tv than the customers. Will give it a wide berth next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving feedback. The portion sizes are inline with the local area and with regard to the batter, we pride ourselves on its light and airy consistency. You are the first to mention this as a negative thing, nevertheless the staff would have been more that happy to thicken just your batter up into a thick cakey paste and re batter your fish and sausage. We can cater to all needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fresh and tasty food cooked by friendly staff in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

we had scampi and chips with mushy peas on the side. The portions were generous, cooked perfectly and the restaurant was bright, friendly and very clean. The staff were attentive and friendly and the service was quick. The restaurant has seating inside in modern surroundings. The toilet was very clean and hygenic. Outside in good weather it would be lovely to sit on the harbour wall and watch the boats in the harbour as the restaurant sits on the Quay in Ilfracombe. We would certainly come back to eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England
1 review
“Best fish and chips around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Best fish and chips around! Welcoming, friendly staff and great value for money. Also had TV screens at the table which was a lovely treat for our little girl to watch Monsters University. This restaurant made a fabulous end to our day out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. You will be pleased to know that we are staying up to date and are now screening Frozen. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fish and chips in Ilfracombe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Easily the best in Ilfracombe, fish is lovely and local. Eat in or take away your choice either way highly recommended with friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pok457, Owner at Lynbay Fish and Chips, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Lynbay Fish and Chip Shop would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynbay Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Lynbay Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynbay Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.