We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookdales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookdales
Save
You added Brookdales to your Saves list
23 Brookdale Avenue, Ilfracombe EX34 8DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Find this little gem of a place, and what could we say, its 5 star treatment at 2 star rates, you cant go wrong with this place, Christine is a first class host, on our arrival, we was greeted with a large pot of tea, and a brief chat, breakfast was ample and excellent, room was lovely and clean, we will be going back. Melvyn and Christine from Derby

Room Tip: read above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Brookdales for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer!
After a warm welcome from Christine we were shown to our rooms which far surpassed our expectations for such a reasonable price. The bed was immaculately clean and comfortable and the little touches such as limitless tea, coffee, biscuits and water provided in the room made all the difference after a long journey. The bathrooms and dining areas were all clean, well decorated and presented with the guests comfort in mind.
The breakfast was outstanding with good quality local produce, a perfectly ample portion to set you up for the day. It's worth sampling Christine's evening meals as it must be said, she is an outstanding cook.
I would highly recommend this wonderful little B&B.

Room Tip: My room was the double with the separate large bathroom with bath and shower on the first floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Brookdales for one night whilst on a short break in Ilfracombe. We received a hearty welcome from Christine, who could not have been more obliging or helpful. Our on-suite room was spacious and comfortable, the welcome tray well stocked, and the on-suite well equipped. A lovely full English breakfast was provided and free wi-fi was also available. Brookdales is in a quiet location but just a few minutes walk from the town centre and Tunnels Beach. Tunnels Beach is well worth a visit whilst you are in Ilfracombe, as too is The Ilfracombe Fryer which serves fantastic fish and chips. All-in-all a lovely place for an over-night stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had to go to Ilfracombe for just one night for a funeral so booked Brookdales at the last minute but was not disappointed.We stopped in the en-suite room which was spacious and clean.The tea/coffee tray was well stocked and there was bottled water on the night stand.The shower ensuit was spacious and contained everything you would need.We had a comfortable night and looked forward to the breakfast.The breakfast was served between 9 and 10am but as we were setting off early the proprietor cooked us an early breakfast at 7.30am. The full english was well cooked and good produce and there was lots of tea/coffee and toast and the home made whisky marmalade was lovely.There was also cereals/jam/juice and a vegetarian option available.We had a comfortable stay and if we are passing will stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked for one night. Christine gave us a hearty welcome, and showed us to our lovely room. She has a real knack for design, and our room was very thoughfully laid out and attractive. We had bottled water on our bedside table, and a bottle for the kettle. Everything was spotless. Our room was not en-suite, but the bathroom for our use was beautiful, and had a balcony which we could use. My husband enjoyed sitting out there in the morning with his coffee. We had a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was A+! Great selection of cereal and juice, and fresh fruit, which was a nice touch. The cooked breakfast was excellent, and we went away full and satisfied. Christine had a front room which we could use (we did not, but if we'd stayed for more than one night, we may have), and I was able to use the wifi from there. She's a short walk to the harbour, and we had great fish and chips at Lynbay F&C on the harbour. We had gotten a very good deal on our room, and we both agreed we would like to pay more than what she had asked. So in the spirit of 'Four in a Bed' (which i love!), we overpaid her for our stay. Christine is an excellent host, and you would struggle to find fault with her rooms. I'm sure there's a lot of competition in Ilfracombe, but you would not find a more welcoming place than Brookdales.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a one night stay for my Partner and my birthdays. Christine was very welcoming when we arrived. Room was clean and tidy and very comfortable. Breakfast was great, lots of choice to accommodate all tastes and it was cooked to perfection with more offered if required. Excellent value for money, you could easily expect to pay lots more for the same standard of room and service. A real gem in a lovely part of the country. Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a great 2 night stay. Christine was extremely accommodating on our arrival and throughout. Clean and tidy bedroom. Breakfast was great. Cooked and choice of cereal and fruit which you would have to pay loads for at prem inn and t'lodge. Great value for money and just enhanced our stay in a beautiful part of the country. Highly recommended. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookdales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookdales

Address: 23 Brookdale Avenue, Ilfracombe EX34 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Brookdales Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookdales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.