We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tea Garden

The Tea Garden
No.8 St james's Place, Ilfracombe, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day stay in Ilfracombe, came across the tea garden our first day, and called in every day after. Lovely garden to sit in, clean and well kept, the service was excellent by very pleasent polite young ladies, nothing too much trouble. Had lovely snacks, loved the fact nice chunky bread was used for toasties, sandwiches etc, lovely home made victoria sponge, lashings of cream on my hot chocolate,ice cream in my milk shake on warm days, fabulous cream teas, you can tell we went every day!. A little gem of a place to sit and relax in the sun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cream Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Prompt service, good choice- perfect cream tea with ample jam and cream, with warmed scone. Lovely ambience. Extra touch included a pot of hot water for tea top ups

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited here last year and as the weather was good and the sun was shining we decided to sit in the garden and indulge in a cream tea. The gluten free scones are delicious as was the cheese and onion pasty. The service is attentive and the staff are very helpful. We ate cream tea here twice on our stay and it was great both times. It does get very busy but it's well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely garden on a sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had been here before and enjoyed the meal so came again when we stayed in Ilfracombe for a week. We had dinner here twice and another day a cream tea. All of the meals where good and the service excellent. Dogs are welcome in the garden.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Coffee Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stopped by for a coffee while in Ilfracombe for weekend. Sat outside and went inside to pay and use toilet. Very impressed by interior, friendly efficient staff and cleanliness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to The Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.