We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free Cream Teas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tea Garden

The Tea Garden
No.8 St james's Place, Ilfracombe, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Walsall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Cream Teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Similar to a previous review, we too, happened to walk past and we noticed a board outside advertising Gluten Free Cream Teas. They also had Gluten Free Bakewell Tart, Sponge Cake and Tea cakes. My husband and in-laws had the normal two scone cream tea. I had the Gluten Free option. We all enjoyed them immensely. Although our eyes were bigger than our bellies and should have chosen the mini cream tea (one scone) option as we ended up taking the second scone away with us.The tea room was clean and the decor was warm and interesting. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely recommend a vist here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited the harbour and walked past numerous cafes and eateries. The tea rooms have a lovely well kept garden with lots of outdoor seating. The weather was glorious so we sat outside, all tables have umbrellas. Kids had panini and baguettes. Both looked lovely, served with fresh salad and nachos. Baguette was very well filled with tuna and red onion. Grown ups were naughty and opted for fruit scones and jam and a gluten free cream tea! Scones were lovely, slightly warm and needless to say nothing was left. Lovely setting, good food and service although expect a wait if busy..but what's the rush?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sun Trap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The best crab sandwiches we have ever tasted, wonderful local fresh crab and granary bread, we were lucky with the weather and sat in the garden which is very well maintained and a sun trap. Also visited another day when weather not so nice, again lunch and atmosphere brilliant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We popped in for cream tea, and ended up staying for a couple of hours. Such a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. Beautiful garden (which was a bit of a sun trap), brilliant staff and out of this world food. The scones are without doubt the best I've seen & tasted. Was just a pleasure to go to.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near tiverton, devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best service in Ilfrcombe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hat's off to this family run seasonal cafe, a short walk from the Harbour. We have visited on countless occassions. Simple light meals perfectly cooked and generous portions. The crab sandwich is the best in Ilfracombe and locally sourced. Beautifully maintained gardens and a hard working team who never fail to serve customers quickly and happily even when rushed off their feet. Tables are cleared instantly which leads to a tidy outdoor seating area. Most tourists go for the Cream Teas which are outstanding and we have never heard one customer, local or otherwise, complain. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to The Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.