We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park

Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park
Ilfracombe EX34 0NG, England
01271 882486
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 attractions in Ilfracombe
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A wildlife park that demonstrates how life was for the dinosaurs.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited here last week and found it a bit of a disappointment, half of the park was closed and we climbed the steep hills to find out that almost all the enclosures were empty. Definitely not worth the money!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am a bit perplexed about your review. Firstly I cannot understand what was closed when you visited us last week. The only things we do not open outside the school holidays are the small refreshment kiosks near the Sea Lion Pool and the Meerkat Enclosure. The reason for this is because we would be paying 2 members of staff wages for the day and the takings in these kiosks would not cover it at this time of year. Therefore we would be wasting money which could be spent on our animals. The Jungle Hut Cafe and Oasis Baguette Bar were both open for refreshments and ice creams. There was a few days when the craft centre was not open due to staff illness but these crafts are an optional extra for our visitors to do so is not covered by the admission charge. Everything else on the park would have been open. With reference to the empty enclosures there are only two. One clearly says it is for our endangered White Wolves which are coming soon (in fact they should be here on the 20th) and the other one has been kept empty intentionally as that is earmarked for some of our primates. All the rest of the enclosures have animals in but unfortunately we are unable to guarantee where they sit in their enclosures and as a responsible zoo we have to provide areas they can hide if they want to as this reduces stress in animals in captivity. Long gone are the old victorian type zoos which do not take the animals into consideration.This is why we provide a full day of talks/shows and encounters for people to go to which guarantees our visitors a chance to view animals close up. We do recommend that our visitors participate in the itinary as they will get the best out of their day if they do. I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit but if you had of come to our park information desk we could have reassured you and made some recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    110
    57
    23
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mold
1 review
“First visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First visit to the park and they seem to have done a pretty good job with the layout of the park considering its valley location steep in places but so is everywhere in north Devon
. Where I feel they could perhaps improve is with some benches on the paths both to collect your breath and also to sit and take in the natural setting. The sealion show and bug world were good all of the staff were very helpful And well worth another visit in the future

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I totally agree, we do need more benches and they are definately on our list to get. As new owners of this attraction last year our list has been long and varied (and costly) but next time you visit us you should have more places to sit and take in the lovely surroundings. Thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“day at combe martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a superb day at this park well worth the money excellent attraction my grand daughter loves animals of every shape and form she got to hold a snake, and Tara with the birds of prey made her day letting her hold her little owl PIGWIDGEON she did not stop talking about Tara and her birds.Tara was the icing on the for us she could not have done anymore for us the park photographer was also excellent all round a very good day out Thanks TARA

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Five stars, brill! I am sure Tara will read this as all our team are interested in the opinions of our visitors but just in case I will make sure she knows about it. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and we really hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Finding the car parks was a bit of a mission, and I'll say from the get go, the hills are steep... but they're worth climbing.
The animal enclosures are plentiful, and there's plenty of chance to hand feed the wallabies right near the top.
The sealion show was fantastic, and funny while remaining educational and informative.
The egyption exhibit was informative but, as with the bug zone, the close quarters were a little intimidating, especially so if you get an impatient person behind you.

All in all an excellent day out, and worth the drive into the countryside

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your day so much. I know what you are saying about the close quarters of the Egyptian Tomb and the Bug World Cave being a bit intimidating but the intention was to create atmosphere! Unfortunately nothing we can do about the impatient person behind you but hopefully there won't be too many of them around! Thank you for your recommendations to others and we hope to see you again soon. Hopefully you would have picked up your 50% return discount voucher so you will be able to come and see our white wolves who will be moving into their new home on the park this Wednesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Our son loves going here, he loves the dinosaurs the best and has to be near them when they wake up.the sea lion show is great for young and old and the wolves and lions are great as well.its well worth a visit

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn G, Owner at Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Wow, five stars, thank you. I notice you live in Exeter so I hope you picked up the 50% return vouchers from the information desk which are valid all season. If you like wolves you may be interested to hear that in the next few days we have a couple of endangered white Hudson Bay Wolves coming to live here and there is only one other collection in the UK that has white wolves on permanent display so we are very excited!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park to your Saves list