We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chatty welcoming cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House Cafe

The Manor House Cafe
70 High Street, Ilfracombe EX349QE, England
01271864865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British, Café, Tea Room, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chatty welcoming cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

As soon as we stepped through the cafe door we received a delightful greeting. An excellent hot chocolate was brought out topped with maltesers and marshmallows, a perfect holiday treat. This cafe is wonderful for a nice afternoon tea and we shall definitely be revisiting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
SO glad the hot chocolate hit the spot - it is quite a balancing act to get all that cream, Maltesers and marshmallows from the counter to the table!! We hope that you will return to north Devon for a holiday soon. Jill and Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Charming little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

A lovely little cafe with very friendly staff who are more than willing to tell you about the local area and advise on what are the best things to do. Food was lovely to and is all home made. One of the best cafes in ilfracombe

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments we always try and help our holiday makers get the best out of lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A delightful greeting - on first name terms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I visit the MHC several times a month and I always get a cheery greeting whether I'm here for lunch, breakfast or just a coffee - with something else of course.

I understand they offer a Sunday lunch as well.

Do go along and enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you Kathy it is especially lovely to receive a review from one of our locals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum Yum and a chat with your food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This cafe is a hidden gem. The food is superb and the service can not be more friendly . If your planning a visit to the area have your Breakfast/Lunch here you wont be disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review but so sorry taken me so long in responding. We love welcoming people to our café as we love it as much as our customers do! Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Had a great breakfast here, such a friendly and welcoming place. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillyMSC, Owner at The Manor House Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you Becky, lovely to get people over from Coombe Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manor House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Manor House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.