We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting, food and staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimes Of St James

Chimes Of St James
3 St James Place, Ilfracombe, England
01271866233
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting, food and staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had my sisters Birthday at Chimes and had a wonderful time there, the food was delicious and plentiful and the staff make you feel very welcome. It is lovely to sit outside and watch the world go by, highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went here in the summer and had a supurb afternoon. This time we were down for a long weekend. Booked and ordered the lobster it was devine. Ate like kings and treated very royaly by the chef. Will definitely be returning on our next visit to Illfracombe in the summer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Enjoyed a relaxed and enjoyable meal at Chimes of St James. Well cooked, imaginative and tasty food freshly prepared. Good atmosphere and friendly service. Such a shame we live so far away or we would be regular customers! I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great lil place with a relaxed chilled out atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here twice now both being at lunchtime. The same young waiter was on duty both times..very efficient and well mannered..defo an asset to Chimes ! We actually ate the same foods as previously..all dishes were preseted very well and without waiting a long time..Certainly a place to relax and have a few drinks Will be back again soon

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to chimes last night for my daughters birthday. there was 11 of us. The food was superb the service was good and the atmosphere nice and chilled. will definately be returning. thank you guys we had a really nice evening

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimes Of St James also viewed

 

Been to Chimes Of St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimes Of St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.