We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country pub feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George and Dragon

The George and Dragon
Fore Street | EX34 9ED, Ilfracombe, England
01271 863 851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Walsall
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“country pub feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely country style old pub, serving traditional home cooked food. Service good, food lovely. Would recommend the lasagne and crumble any day.

Would definitely go back if in ilfracombe again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    42
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pub in the heart of ilfracombe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch while in ilfracombe for the day. Good pub food but nothing special. Friendly staff and quick service. Oldest pub in Ilfracombe if you like a bit of history.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely food but get in early to find a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate here twice and both times the food was really well cooked. Husband could have done with a bit more pineapple on his hawaiian burger the first night but still enjoyed it.
Friendly and efficient service. Food not served all day, just lunch times and then from about 6.30pm-9pm.

Very popular for food and you need to get in early to ensure getting a table. On our 3rd night we got in a bit later (due to a trek to the police station to hand in credit cards we had found on the way there) and there wasn't anywhere to sit .

They have a sign up saying cash only and no debit/credit cards accepted. They do have a cash machine but this makes a charge (I'm sure someone said £4.50 a transaction). This machine doesn't seem to like German or American cards though as quite a few were unable to get their cards to work

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Truely awful food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We ordered 10 meals. 2 were inedible. A further 2 were really poor quality and 1 had hair in it. How you can get it that wrong in one sitting I will never know.

The majority of the menu says that the food is home made, frankly that is just not true. If it is, then the chef/owner doesn't know how to cook. We spoke to the manager who offered us in to his kitchen to prove to us that everything is home made. He said it was the end of service so no food was out but all the same I'm not sure that the health and safety executive would be overly pleased with the mis placed offer. He offered us £10 off the bill which we accepted but this was a token gesture.

The food while being distinctly adverage is over-priced. They don't accept debit or credit cards and you get the distinct feeling that everything is run to maximise profit even if this makes the pub run badly. A clear sign that the landlord is either skint and will be out of business soon or too tight. It's all a bit of a rip off.

If you must eat at this pub then order something with grilled meat as this seems to be the chefs strong point. Anything else steer well clear. Have a pint by all means but even that ain't that great and is also pricey.

I have to say that this pub being the oldest in town (est 1360) could be amazing, quaint and interesting, but it's not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bude
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely food lovely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

wife and I had a lovely meal great pub and good prices :)
choose to sit inside in the cosy bar,but room outside to eat, clearn toilets perfect.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George and Dragon also viewed

 

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George and Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.