We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For 'lively atmosphere' read 'torture by screaming banshees'.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Room

The Olive Room
56 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $20 - $56
Cuisines: English, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For 'lively atmosphere' read 'torture by screaming banshees'.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Oh dear. After a promising meal a week ago we were happy to return with friends upon our recommendation. We weren't expecting the adjoining birthday party of 14 screaming women all trying to shout louder than each other. So loud were they we literally had to shout to hear each other (we all have perfect hearing). When we mentioned the fact we couldn't actually have a conversation the owner apologised but made no attempt to tone down the party. The waiter then unbelievably started arguing with us because we complained. It was more of an endurance test than a relaxing meal. The food was pretty good apart from a miserable 'tagine' of boiled vegetables. Shame about their idea of a quote "lively atmosphere"

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at The Olive Room, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
We're really sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable experience at The Olive Room last night. We take your point that the party of 11 were in particularly high spirits and appreciate that the resultant noise seriously impeded your enjoyment of the meal.

We received comments from other diners, not part of the large party, complimenting the atmosphere and really enjoying the noise and fun, some saying that the party had actually enticed them in, but we fully understand that we can't please all the people all of the time.

However, as a new business really focused on providing great customer service and striving to make sure people leave the place with a smile we have taken on board your comments and in future will endeavor to pre-warn any customer wishing to book or walking in on the night , should we also have a large celebration party dining in that evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    31
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful food, reasonably priced, great homely atmosphere and fab service! I'm looking for an excuse so I can go back there again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

Excellent food, delicious veggie options, clean, friendly and quick!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croyde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly and relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We visited the restaurant for an evening meal and were very impressed, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and really tried to make everything perfect for us. The food was lovely - especially the anti past starter, and we were very impressed with the fact that there was so many different vegetarian choices. We'll certainly reccomend you to all of our friends - We can't wait to come back again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Fab food served in a relaxed atmosphere by really friendly staff! What more can you ask for!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Room also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to The Olive Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.