We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, lovely accommodation, lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mullacott Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mullacott Farm to your Saves list
Mullacott Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mullacott Cross, Ilfracombe EX34 8NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location, lovely accommodation, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've stayed several times here in the B&B. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The food is really good. The staff are really friendly. It was fascinating to see the wide variety of animals that live here. I couldn't fault it - a wonderful place, and I shall definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to Lundy and used their free car parking facilities as well. We booked the family room which had plenty of space and we had 2 teenage girls with us. The bathroom and bedroom were immaculate and they had the thickest, fluffiest towels I have ever used, and I've been in a few 4* hotels in my time. The breakfast was great, their own bacon, egg and fab sausages and lovely toast.

We couldn't have been made more welcome with help given on organising a taxi and a great recommendation for an evening meal having driven 4 hours to get to them.

Camping facilities looked good as well, basic, but that's what camping is all about (being a seasoned camper in my spare time!).

Overall, I would heartily recommend this place and really do not know what others are complaining about!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was so looking forward to a stay in this place having read all the reviews here is what I got.

The room was tired.

The beds were as hard as pavement.

The pillows of the poorest quality foam.

The top of the kettle was broken.

There was a great big No Smoking sign tastefully done in gold and black stuck slap in the middle of the wall.

The heating had not been turned on in the bathroom and it was freezing, I had to wait for it to heat up.

The bathroom was as tired as the rest, there were cobwebs, the extractor fan needed a very good clean indeed and the shower cubicle was downright dirty.

When I finally got my evening shower the water was cold.

That wonderful breakfast?

Instant coffee. All those accolades and instant coffee?

The smallest teapot for two I have ever seen, no hot water provided, it was whipped away as I opened my mouth to ask for a top up.

I do not have baked beans at breakfast, here is what my cooked breakfast consisted of:

1 small egg, cooked well.

1 slice of bacon with that white watery mess on it.

1 half sized sausage, it's casing split, overcooked and dry.

1 triangle of undercooked hash brown, inedible.

6 quarters of button mushroom presumably micro-waved, almost no taste.

1 very small tomato, blackened, overcooked and shrivelled.

There was an adequate quantity of toast but only enough butter and preserve for 1 slice each.

This is a precise, correct and honest summation, good breakfast?

I am sure that at one time this place may have deserved it's rave ratings it certainly did not when I stayed there and cannot hope to keep them unless they do something radical.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullacottfarm, Owner at Mullacott Farm, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service we strive to provide, and we apologize you felt your stay was unsatisfactory.

We take great pride in our standards, and facilities. Spring cleaning has been completed, and carpets have had their annual clean. Our beds have orthopaedic mattresses, and we have heard on many occasions how comfortable they are. The pillows, and bedding are from Marks and Spencer’s and are good quality and plentiful in each room. The kettle was replaced after your visit, when we noticed it had been broken.

You are right about the no smoking signs, which we still have in each room. Unfortunately not every guest takes notice of the UK no smoking laws and it is worth reminding them.

We have never had anyone comment on no heating or hot water, in fact it is usually the complete opposite, asking how to turn it down. Each room has a thermostatic valve on each radiator which the guest can operate themselves, and simple switches in the showers, which are easy to operate, even for those with mobility problems. There is always someone around in the farmhouse, if there is a problem, who could have helped, if they were asked.

I am sorry you didn’t like the breakfast. We are very proud of our farm produce breakfast. We make the sausages and bacon ourselves. I don’t recall your actual breakfast plate, so can’t comment exactly, but I do know that many people who have stayed since have written very complimentary things in our visitors book about our delicious breakfast, with the choices of yoghurt and fruit, and various cereals, and the sideboard with the additional homemade jams, marmite and honey and extra butters. I am surprised the teapot got whipped away, as we usually ask people a couple of times if they want more tea or coffee and toast and don’t clear these away until the guests have left the table.

It was a shame you didn’t feel able to tell us about your feelings at the time, to give us an opportunity to address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the camping barn for a couple nights last year and it was brilliant. The barn was in a lovely quiet location however it was still near enough to visit the beach and town. The barn is basic although it still has all the essentials you would need. We paid £9.00 a night and thought this was an absolute bargain and would defiantly stay at Mullacott farm again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were delighted with every aspect of Mullacott farm. Our room was warm and comfortable and offered all the little treats you hope for in well run B&B accomodation plus an outstandingly good breakfast.
The farm is good fun to walk round and makes an excellent base for exploring North and west coast Devon.
Great value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed one night in the B&B - the room was cosy with sloping ceilings and a comfortable bed. the bathroom had no natural light but was adequate. There was a communal fridge available for guests which was useful.

It was lovely to walk in the fields and see the alpacas. The setting of the farm was very nice but it was not too easy to find initially as we ended up initially in the wrong place.

Breakfast was very nice in a lovely room and the service was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The room was clean and well furnished. TV, tea, coffee and two comfortable armchairs provided. The beds were also comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful. The breakfast in the morning was delicious home cooked fare. Adrian and Alison made us very welcome. The Barn is located within the farm near to their riding school. Access is off of the A361 just outside Ilfacombe so is conviently situated for nearby Woolacombe and its 3 mile golden sandy beach. A very enjoyable stay at a reasonable price. Will we go again? Oh yes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mullacott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullacott Farm

Address: Mullacott Cross, Ilfracombe EX34 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mullacott Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run working farm, with many animals. Converted barn adjacent to farmhouse. Ideal base for beach, walking riding, near Woolacombe, Ilfracombe, Exmoor and beyond. All rooms have en-suite, colour T.V., hospitality tray, own key/ access at all times. Scrumptious farm-produced breakfast, including, our own sausages, bacon and free-range eggs, complements high standards of cleanliness and comfort. Children welcome, cot/highchair available; ground floor available. Rooms can be double, twin, single or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mullacott Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullacott Farm Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mullacott Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.