We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant

Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant
26 Watermouth Road | Hele, Ilfracombe EX34 9QY, England
+44(0)1271 866488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you are looking for a fantastic meal at excellent prices then look no further. Beautiful location in Hele bay, lovely little restaurant with ever so friendly staff and management team, you couldn't ask for better!!! If you want a treat, go for the mighty crackly pork!!! We will most certainly be back. Thank you Helebilly's :-) this restaurant is what all independents should strive to be like :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    62
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe
1 review
“andycombe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family had a lovely meal best steak I had for a long time perfectly cooked,waitress very cheerful and helpfull, good wine list and desserts, we will return asap highly recommend this place to dine.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rude, unpleasant - save your time and don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I seriously can't believe how very rude the staff were in this restaurant. Just save your time and don't go. I don't save up hard earnt money to be treated as badly as I was treated and begrudge paying for such appalling service. We love eating out and I have written many reviews on trip advisor but I honestly can't remember a place where I have ever had such a bad experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambi589, Owner at Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Please see response to the other member of your party who also posted an untrue review in an attempt to discredit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rat infested scum hole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Avoid, dirty, smelly, rude staff, poor food, will never return there, look out for the stray cat bringing dead mice in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambi589, Owner at Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I can only presume that you think that this is a clever way to 'get back' at me for being unable to accommodate you on your recent visit. The hurling of the wine lists across the restaurant was enough I think.
I'm confident that our customers/prospective customers will read this for what it is. The other negative comment a day later (also from Basingstoke) is,I presume, another attack from another member of your disappointed party
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a lovely family meal here, menu was great with a lot of choice. children's menu was a selection of smaller portions and was varied not just your normal sausage nuggets or burger with chips which was great. Service was spot on and all meals were delicious. booking recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hele Billy's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.