We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making a comeback, we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larkstone Cafe and Leisure Park

Larkstone Cafe and Leisure Park
Larkstone Gardens, Ilfracombe EX34 9QG, England
01271 269240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Fun & Games in Ilfracombe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a fully licensed cafe and function venue offering stunning views across Ilfracombe Harbour and the sea to Wales. We have a range of lawn games from putting to grass court tennis, croquet to bowls, all with refreshments from cream teas to full sunset dinners. With 30 indoor covers, a log fire for the cooler days and sunset dining on the lawns overlooking some of the most picturesque coastline in Britain. We have catered for many functions from weddings to 40th birthday parties to family gatherings.We look forward to welcoming you.....
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Making a comeback, we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Other comments about being a bit run down are fair, but I would rather the quality of food drink and cheerful service be considered important and that is certainly the case here. The new owners open regularly to set hours, provide a great service and what better place to sit and eat a really good cream tea and drink tea from a cup and saucer!
Don't be put off by appearances, who wants to drink tea or coffee at a super fancy cafe or burger bar when they can enjoy such stunning scenery, only a short walk from the harbour and in summer you can use the park and ride to get there if not up to the walk.
It is a shame the previous owners ran it down, but the new owners have done much to improve it, especially with indoor seating, so all weather use possible now.
Not to be missed if visiting Ilfracombe.
Not many other cafes are serving cream teas up to 6pm, so well done and good luck for the future!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkstoneCafe, Owner at Larkstone Cafe and Leisure Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank for such a lovely review and for visiting Larkstone, we look forward to welcoming you again when we will have added various new elements to the offer

Dave & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    8
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had a great time playing all the games that are provided. Spent all day here with lovely home cooked food. Was accommodating as my daughter is gluten free. Will b back in a few months when on holiday again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great location looking out to sea, perfect spot for a Devonshire Cream Tea.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Looking forward to the future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I had lunch there last week. A great place to visit after a swim and the food is well served and plentiful.

I spoke to the owner and listened to their plans.

Good luck I cant wait to see the development as it progresses.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place in a beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Food was good and very welcoming staff following a lovely walk on the coastal path.. Dog loved the water provided for her too!! Recommend this as a great place to break your walk.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkstone Cafe and Leisure Park also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Larkstone Cafe and Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larkstone Cafe and Leisure Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.