We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basils

Basils
54 Fore Street, Ilfracombe, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tel No. 01271 862823 email - lindsay.basils@yahoo.co.uk
1 review
“Highly recommended .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just got back to our hotel having had to walk our meal off , think that gives you a clue . Very welcoming atmosphere supplied by extremely pleasant hostess . Soup of the day - sweet potato and red pepper set the standard for the rest of the meal . Both main meals, lamb and the mushroom stroganoff, were beautiful and plentiful, so much so that we had to decline a dessert!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food, in a not so obvious location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The food and service was amazing, I am very glad that we went there for my mum's birthday, she very much enjoyed it, i can recommend this to everyone who can cope with the steep hill!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a lovely meal at Basils over the bank holiday weekend. The only downside was that we were the only couple in the restaurant. Perhaps the torrential rain kept people away, I cant think why else it would be so quiet. I would go there again and recommend this place to my friends.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely homely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a lovely small homely restaurant, where the informality is enhanced by the welcome from Lindsay as you enter the door

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mixed Up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The night before it had been busy. We were the only customers. Warm welcome, nice setting, atmospheric music. Lots of people looked at the menu then walked on. I don't expect 'house wine' to come from grapes in the back garden but 'pate maison' is a different matter- was it 'maison tesco'? I expected home made!
Sweet potato soup- nicely spiced, thai chicken curry did the business, but Moules Marinieres cooked in more than a pint of creamed 'liquid' meant that those poor little mussels that were at the bottom of the pot were well and truly stewed by the time I got to them. I would have thought 300ml- hopefully wine or cider- plus some cream would have produced a more concentrated and tasty liquor
A pleasant enough evening- but I'd think twice about going back

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasilIlfracombe, Owner at Basils, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I'm very sorry to read your review as it it is quite far from the truth! Our pate IS homemade, I suppose we could take it as a complement that you presume it was bought, however we are sorry that you wrote this without asking at the time!! In fact only last night we had a customer say it had to be homemade as it was so tasty, still everyone to their own.

Your comment on the mussels was totally misleading our moules mariniere are cooked in a sauvignon blanc white wine ( off our wine list not a cheap wine) with cream added at the end of cooking. If we indeed used a pint of wine we would make no profit on the dish!! All I can suggest is that the traditional mussel pots that we use are quite deep so that there appears to be more liquid & if you took your time eating them they carry on cooking as the pots hold their heat. I have to say we have so many customers praise them we were very surprised at your comments & I felt compelled to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basils also viewed

 

Been to Basils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basils, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.