We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate meal for two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basils

Basils
54 Fore Street, Ilfracombe, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tel No. 01271 862823 email - lindsay.basils@yahoo.co.uk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Intimate meal for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

small, intimate restaurant. simple menu with well-prepared, delicious food. Very reasonable prices. Would definitely go back.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Good selection on the menu, would recommend the white bait in particular. Kev and Lynsey looked after us very well. If you come to Ilfracombe, eat at Basils !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Small but excellent restaurant with a warm atmosphere and excellent food

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fairly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Food was okay, staff pretty friendly but weren't too keen on us bringing our pushchair into the restaurant even though the restaurant was empty and stayed empty apart from us!!! Wouldn't go again.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasilIlfracombe, Owner at Basils, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
I'm very sorry you felt that way, we normally do not have pushchairs in the restaurant as there is no room & because of the size it causes disruption to other customers. I believed that I welcomed both you & your son & tried to make you all feel welcome, however I feel that from now on we will only have older children as that is more suited to our establishment.

We did have customers the following nights who said they didn't come in that night because there was a small baby & they didn't want a crying baby to disturb their evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were there in march this year ,our third visit.You have great food,great service.You have a fantastic evening also.It has a lovely atmosphere.When you walk in through the door the welcome is sincere and very warm.The food is very delicious.We will visit again in the future.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basils also viewed

 

Been to Basils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basils, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.