We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Varley House to your Saves list
Varley House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Okehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our expectations were high due to reading reviews and we were not disappointed. The rooms were very well-equipped, the beds were comfy and the bathrooms/facilities were very good too.
Rod and Helen were very friendly, great for helpful advice and accommodating (they would have got us soya milk had we thought to request it) and breakfast was excellent too. Leaving our car there whilst we went to Lundy Island was so handy. The B&B is close enough to walk to the High St and harbour (unless you have below average fitness). The icing on the cake was having a games room available: with darts, a small pool table, exercise bike and lots of board games and a drinks bar. If we go back to Ilfracombe, we will definitely stay there again. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We wanted to say thank you for the good comments that you have made about us and Varley House.
It was nice to meet you all and that you had a good time before your short break on Lundy Island.
As you say if ever you are back in the area again we would love to see you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
73
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Rod and Helen were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, lovely house and the view from the comfortable, light and airy bedroom was fantastic. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely visit again. Rod and Helen made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for making our holiday so enjoyable. Liz and Keith

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for the good comments about us and Varley House. It was nice to be able to help your stay go well and look after your boys either side of their trip to Lundy Island.
If ever you are back in the area again we would love to see you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Cleanliness was top of the list! Good location plenty of nice views. Hilly area maybe but Ilfracombe is!
Nice breakfast comfortable bed quiet area. Full Marks! Ideal for back packer walker bird watching. Exmoor on your door step. If the sun shines you have Woolacombe Sands close by if cloudy a host of places to go From Watermouth - Combe Martin Hunters Inn Lynton and Lymouth Exmoor and so on. Golf at Ilfracombe and Saunton.

Room Tip: Sea view to most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for the good comments about Varley House. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you both for the 1 night whilst you were baby sitting your grand child.
We would love to see you both again, whenever you are visiting your family again, so just give us a call
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

13.8.14 Very comfortable room, excellent shower - I think the shower basin alone was bigger than some of the ensuites we had in other B&B's during our week in Devon!
Rod made us very welcome and 3 road bikes stored securely for the more active of us on the holiday. Very obliging as I needed an early breakfast, I was especially delighted to find a huge bowl of fresh fruit salad and yoghurt available and didn't bother with the cooked option. I ate so much of the fresh fruit, they prepared another lot - without any complaint or comment. One of our party had the kippers, others the full English - all good.
Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for the excellent comments that you have made about Varley House.
We hope that the cyclist's had a good time and were not to weary after the exercise.
If ever you are back in Ilfracombe again, we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Rod the owner was very helpful and prompt when arranging the booking, especially considering only staying for one night. Easy to find, and lovely views. On arrival, again very helpful and gave me free use of landline phone (as my O2 signal was flakey). Room was clean, bathroom was spacey and clean, shower was powerful and hot. Only 5 min taxi ride back from Tunnels, bed was very comfy (but had had a couple of drinks!!) Breakfast included usual choices, and the full english breakfast was prompt and very satisfying. Enjoyed my stay and may well go back sometime.

Room Tip: West facing will give great views out to see. Friend had water pressure issue in their room, so che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for the good comments about Varley House. It was nice to meet you both and help you enjoy and prepare yourself prior to the Wedding at the Tunnels beaches.
Re the room your friend was in, the bathroom will be refurbished in the winter, and a power shower installed to counteract the water pressure problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

From the moment we first arrived we were treated to a warm welcome and were taken on a tour on the hotel facilities. The hotel room was stunning including a 4 poster bed and modern bathroom striking the right balance between functional and classic accommodation.

Varley House was our base to visit the surrounding areas of this beautiful part of Devon, with Ilfracombe just a short walk into the high street and the harbour area just a little further on, where you will find some excellent shopping and restaurant areas serving the best in local produce.

In the morning breakfast was served made to order and it did not disappoint with a excellent choice to cater for all needs, although the cooked breakfast is what I'd recommend.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would have no reservations about returning here.

In terms of pricing we felt that the accommodation represented excellent value for money.

To summarise, it was an exceptional location and Varley House should be strongly considered as your place to stay.

Best regards to the team from Jon & Yvette

Room Tip: The room with a 4 poster bed (room 6) is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review on Varley House. It was good to meet 2 people who came from our old home town, and glad that we were able to make your short stay with us enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as went to a wedding at The Tunnels. Lovely people, lovely room overlooking the sea with stunning views. Good service and breakfast. Didn't use the bar but only one problem was that the lounge needs updating. Too old. As they have only been there 4 years it looks as if they are gradually modernising the premises.The bedroom was bright, modern, a good size with lovely modern ensuite bathroom. Good extras like tea making facilities and Freeview tv. Breakfasts cooked to order, however we couldn't get any wifi to work at all. Situated on a steep hill so needed the car or strength to get up the hill! Parked in the street easily but a couple of bays on the premises are available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Varley house. We are pleased that we were able to help your stay whilst you were at a wedding at the Tunnels beaches pleasant.
As you rightly have highlighted we are in a programme of refurbishing the building, and are concentrating on the bedrooms first. The lounge is OK, but the bar is in need of updating.
We are also looking at the wifi in the building with the view that in the winter with the promised introduction of superfast broadband, we will be able to produce a stronger signal for all our guests. But at least it works well in the Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.