We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Varley House to your Saves list
Varley House
13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Saver
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

From the moment we first arrived we were treated to a warm welcome and were taken on a tour on the hotel facilities. The hotel room was stunning including a 4 poster bed and modern bathroom striking the right balance between functional and classic accommodation.

Varley House was our base to visit the surrounding areas of this beautiful part of Devon, with Ilfracombe just a short walk into the high street and the harbour area just a little further on, where you will find some excellent shopping and restaurant areas serving the best in local produce.

In the morning breakfast was served made to order and it did not disappoint with a excellent choice to cater for all needs, although the cooked breakfast is what I'd recommend.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would have no reservations about returning here.

In terms of pricing we felt that the accommodation represented excellent value for money.

To summarise, it was an exceptional location and Varley House should be strongly considered as your place to stay.

Best regards to the team from Jon & Yvette

Room Tip: The room with a 4 poster bed (room 6) is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review on Varley House. It was good to meet 2 people who came from our old home town, and glad that we were able to make your short stay with us enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
71
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as went to a wedding at The Tunnels. Lovely people, lovely room overlooking the sea with stunning views. Good service and breakfast. Didn't use the bar but only one problem was that the lounge needs updating. Too old. As they have only been there 4 years it looks as if they are gradually modernising the premises.The bedroom was bright, modern, a good size with lovely modern ensuite bathroom. Good extras like tea making facilities and Freeview tv. Breakfasts cooked to order, however we couldn't get any wifi to work at all. Situated on a steep hill so needed the car or strength to get up the hill! Parked in the street easily but a couple of bays on the premises are available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Varley house. We are pleased that we were able to help your stay whilst you were at a wedding at the Tunnels beaches pleasant.
As you rightly have highlighted we are in a programme of refurbishing the building, and are concentrating on the bedrooms first. The lounge is OK, but the bar is in need of updating.
We are also looking at the wifi in the building with the view that in the winter with the promised introduction of superfast broadband, we will be able to produce a stronger signal for all our guests. But at least it works well in the Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Varley House, both Rod ad Helen were very welcoming. They told about the best places to visit and eat. The room was lovely, with an amazing view, the little touches they add makes all the difference, especially having cotton pads, cotton wool and ear buds, not forgetting the chocolates on the pillows.
The breakfasts were lovely and filled you up, lots of choices of cooked breakfasts but also cereals, croissants etc as well.
Would definitely recommend the place, felt like staying with family, a home from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for the great comments on Varley. It is always nice to get these comments, and that we are doing the little things to help make your stay enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The room was excellent with a really nice en suite shower room. The breakfast was good but the lounge and dining room were a bit dowdy and old fashioned and in need of a facelift. The owners were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments about Varley House.
We are aware that the bar area is now dated and needs updating, but we are concentrating on getting all the bedrooms done first, so you can probably understand, only so much can be done each year.
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had a wonderful few days, stayed at the lovely Varley House, lovely and clean and very friendly host. We will certainly return and would recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a quiet break

Room Tip: There was only one room vacant during our stay, so think all rooms are going to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of Varley House. It was good to meet you and glad that we were able to help you enjoy your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have just come back from an excellent break at The Varley House in Illfracombe. Both Rod and Helen made us feel welcome. The room I had was clean, excellent facilities, with the little touches like chocolate on the bed, shower gel, large bath sheets and comfortable bed. The room was tastefully decorated. The breakfast is plentiful with lots of lovely choices. The weather certainly made this stay even better. The restaurants recommended by the hosts were also spot on and I will certainly be back. HIGHLY RECOMMEND it.

Room Tip: Great location to see North Devon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about Varley House. It was nice to meet you all again, and we hope you had a good journey home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Haven, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Room 6, August 4th.2014.
Very nice B&B, Rod is a excellent host, and can't do enough for you, property is in top condition, full English breakfast is great, room was clean and comfortable with everything you need, the only small issue was the shower water pressure could have been stronger. Wi fi was spot on for us, I would certainly recommend this property.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your good comments on Varley house. It was good to see you both on your tour around England, and glad that we were help you enjoy your stay.
Sometimes around here I am afraid water pressure can be a bit weak, and we have been promised by the water the board that they are upgrading the pipes etc this year!!!
To this end we have been introducing measures to help alleviate this problem.
Anyway enjoy the rest of your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.