We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varley good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Varley House to your Saves list
Varley House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
beverley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Varley good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

exellent hotel with exceptional views of the bay. Great price - mine was £45 a night for a double, inc breakfast. Nice and clean with a firm mattress. Friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Kit

Thanks for this review. It was good to meet you and glad that you chose us to stay with.
If ever work brings you down this way again, give us a call and we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
73
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I have just spent two lovely nights at this excellent hotel. While visiting our son and his family, who were holidaying in Ilfracombe, we had a most enjoyable stay. We received a very warm welcome. The accommodation was first class, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was probably the best we have had in a hotel, very well cooked and very filling, set us up for the day. Rod was very good with helping us to discover places for our family to visit. Thank you very much for your excellent service. We shall most certainly return. Chris and Dek Aughton

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. It was nice to meet you and we would really like to see you again when you visit this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This turned out to be even better than indicated on website. Lovely location within easy walk of harbour. View of Harbour.almost .from first floor...lovely sunset each night we stayed.Very friendly proprietor who made us feel very welcome and made some excellent suggestion of places to eat and visit. Lovely spacious room and excellent cooked breakfast. I would have no hesitation recommending this location to anyone

Room Tip: Look for a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We hope you really enjoyed the rest of your trip here from Ireland, and that you received the service elsewhere the way we like to serve our guests. Thank you for your nice comments and if ever you are in our locality, please come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed for one night, but wished it could have been more. A lovely quiet location with friendly welcoming hosts. Our room, as admitted by Rod, was still to be refurbished, but it was absolutely fine and was spotlessly clean. A very homely atmosphere, we would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank for your nice comments, and the feedback on your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from yet another fantastic holiday to the Varley House Hotel. The owners Rod and Helen are so welcoming and the breakfasts are delicious! Even though the weather was typically English(!) we had a lovely break away and would definitely recommend this hotel. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are lovely and clean. The spacious lounge meant we could play some board games in the evening, and we even joined up with another family who were there and had some lovely games, whilst having drinks from the bar.

Will definitely be going again. Thank you

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms, the ones out the front you can see the sea, I had a side one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at Varley House for three nights, as a base to explore the north coast of Devon and Exmoor. Rod and Helen make us feel at home right from the moment we arrived, with the traditional Varley House welcome of tea and biscuits. Our room was well appointed with modern fixtures and fittings, including a new bathroom. Rod mentioned that he has been a chef and his breakfasts are fit for a king, while his evening menu is of top restaurant quality. He's very knowledgeable about nearby tourist attractions and had plenty of suggestions for ways to spend each day. Helen is always busy behind the scenes, and between the two of them, the place runs like clockwork. Ilfracombe itself seemed a lively place with a busy restaurant centre down at the harbour (10 minutes walk from Varley House), and is ideally central for anyone who wants to take in the stunning north Devonshire costal scenes, including Lynton and Lynmouth to the east or Woolacombe and Clovelly to the west - and not forgetting the breathtaking walks on Exmoor. Ilfracombe is also the start point for trips to Lundy Island (something we intend to do on a future visit) to Varley House.

Room Tip: Rooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed with modern bathrooms. Room 1 has a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to meeting up again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

A group of three of us stayed at Varley House prior to travelling to Lundy and on the evening of our return. One of the reasons for choosing Varley House was that we were able to leave our car there for the duration of our stay on Lundy. On arriving at the house we were greeted by Rod and a tray of tea and biscuits and a friendly chat. The room had excellent views and the bathroom was bright and modern. The mattress provided an excellent nights sleep as it was very comfortable. The house it located on a hill and the walk to the town takes about 15mins. The pictures on the website do not give the accomodation justice. There was a good choice of hot or cold food for breakfast. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house for those incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments that you have made of our establishment, and if you are looking to return to Lundy Island, we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.