We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and lovely owners !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Laston House to your Saves list
Laston House
New Barnstaple Rd, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Curry Rivel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and lovely owners !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at Laston House for one night....What a lovely old English house, really enjoyed staying in a place which still retains all the old features such as the traditional ceiling mouldings and architraves. Our room was spotlessly clean, bright and airy, along with a bed which was one of the most comfortable Ive slept in.
Its situated in a lovely peaceful part of town and just a 10 min stroll down to Harbour..The owners are a lovely couple, very helpful, polite and informative of the local area and the breakfast was great too, freshly cooked and plenty of it.
Would recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful stay in Ilfracombe, we will certainly be going back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    21
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Laston House proved an ideal place for our one night stop over in Ilfracombe.
Very good first impression driving into the large gardens surrounding the house followed by the spacious entrance hall and grand staircase. Clean bright rooms (big windows!). We understand the owners (both very welcoming and friendly) have put a lot of work into the property in the 2 1/2 years they've been there. The rooms are large with high ceilings so they've taken on a big job. In places this shows where the finishing touches aren't perfect but everything was spotlessly clean and we weren't expecting 5 start luxury hotel chic. 5 minute walk to town where we took a recommendation for a fish restaurant Take Thyme. Don't miss this if you love eating fish. Unpretentious, delicious and great value. Pleased to see Hirts Verity for the fisrt time but Ilfracombe's never really done it for me. Nevertheless if you do need an overnight stop Lasdon House is very good value at £80 for a double room and a top notch full English!

Room Tip: view overlooking the sea or garden probably provide the best light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked to stay for one night after seeing the good reviews. A nice quirky hotel. Ideal location. Nice clean and large room, but could have done with a little TLC in some areas. The owners were very nice and friendly. Fabulous breakfast, good local produce. Very relaxing stay. Ilfracombe itself however was very disappointing, not what I had expected or remembered from childhood holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a wonderfully relaxing and happy time in Laston House recently as part of a larger group celebrating a family occasion. Hosts Greg and Abbi entered into the spirit of the occasion marvellously and nothing was too much trouble! The young families were extremely well catered for and all ages were full of admiration for the way in which their hosts managed to serve up wonderful breakfasts with a smile and immense good humour. Thank you Abbi and Greg for a truly memorable 'long weekend'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

An imposing house with a commanding position above Ilfracombe.

An enthusiastic young couple manage the business and one feels that they have the determination to succeed and take the place from strength to strength.

Our room was clean and nice enough. The TV was very small but we were not in Ilfracome to watch television. We were on a cycling holiday and we were provided with a safe place to keep our cycles.

Breakfast was very good and the coffee was truly excellent.

A short (but steep) walk will take the traveller to the harbour area with its appalling Hirst sculpture in evidence and I have no doubt that the Laston will continue to serve the town long after Mr Hirst’s monstrosity has been removed and, hopefully, melted down.

There is a neighbouring pub nearby.

For our purposes the Laston was ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Laston House for the second time recently and it hasn't disappointed on either occasion. Lovely location with sea views and the rooms were clean and well presented. Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits provided in the room which is a nice touch if you need a couple of cups to get you going in the morning! The breakfast consisted of locally sourced sausages which were delicious and the couple who run the hotel were friendly and happy to help with local information. A short walk to the working harbour is a must as is a couple of drinks in 'The Thatch Inn' located next door. Wonderful place and will be visiting next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The building has a certain wow factor as you enter it and is full of lots of character. Our room was beautifully decorated and very spacious. The hosts are lovely and made our young family very welcome. Rather than just providing a high chair at breakfast, baby cutlery and a special bowl were also set out. I thought this was such a lovely touch.
My favourite thing about Laston House was the huge lounge with its sea views. Usually in B&Bs you end up confined to your room with nothing but the TV for company, so the lounge felt like an unexpected luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Address: New Barnstaple Rd, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.