We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laston House

Save Saved
You added Laston House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laston House
New Barnstaple Rd, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The drive has now been filled and is beautifully smooth... the rooms are big and very comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious, the views are beautiful and the family in charge are delightful, friendly and helpful. Ilfracombe's best -thank you!

Room Tip: First floor room with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yatton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This Hotel is accessed by a long private drive, which could really do with its potholes filling. It faces the sea and town so sea views a from at least 3 of the rooms. Our room (#5) was very spacious and clean with a good bed, having 2 windows made it very light and airy, with a good view of the sea. And surprisingly quiet, despite being fairly close to the road. In most places we have stayed there is some sort of information pack in the room, telling you a bit about the Hotel, the area and local restaurants, this Hotel does not have this, pity.The shower room was ok, although the shower was a bit weak, although there was no shaver point, and it would have been nice to have a light over the mirror. We were met by the owner, who was freindly and helpful, and supplied a welcome pot of tea, and reccommended 2 or 3 local restaurants. Which, quite surprisingly, as it looks quite a way from the harbour on google earth, are within a 10/15 minute walk. Breakfast was cereals etc and fresh cooked 'full' English. So, put an info pack in the room, a light over the mirror, oh and a box of tissues in the room would be good, do this, and I'd rate this Hotel excellant. I believe the owners are quite new, so that could explain the one or two very minus points. Having said all this, we would definately stay here again. And I heartily recommend it to anyone visiting Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the sea. You can't beat sitting in bed in the morning, drinking tea and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a really lovely stay here for a 3 day mid week break. We had a spacious and very clean large room and we awoke each morning to beautiful sea views.

The owners Gregg and Abby, were very welcoming and provided us with a wealth of information, regarding places and local attractions to visit. The breakfast was delicious and very fresh. We really enjoyed our stay here so much - we will be returning in next few weeks!

Room Tip: Sea Views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After surfing the Internet for a good location in Ilfracombe, we came across Laston House which seemed to tick all our boxes. We booked for a 7 night stay in late July and found it perfect for all our requirements. With parking being a potential problem in Ilfracombe Laston House is just perfect with ample parking and a brilliant location for the lively harbour. The house is a lovely restored Georgian property with gardens and lovely views over the harbour. We stayed in room number 6 which is the largest room with 3 georgian windows looking out over the garden with the sea beyond. The young hosts, Abi and Greg have done a fantastic job in their first guest house and deserve every success for all their hard work. The breakfast was very good and kept you going for the day. It was only a 10 minute walk to the delightful harbour where there are pubs, restaurant's and cafe's galore. We will definately be returning again.

Room Tip: We rang directly and spoke to Greg for a quick decription of the rooms. We were told that longer sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long eaton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a plastic multichain hotel this is not for you. However,if you want to be delighted by a period Georgian building, two lovely hosts and a breakfast that sets you up for the day then this is the place. With views over the sea and a very relaxing lounge we shall return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietors of Laston House they came to the rescue when we were late booking a room.
The vision the couple have for their new venture is magical. The hard work that they have already completed is outstanding. The enthusiasm that they radiate is like a breath of fresh air! Most of all the setting is tranquil and relaxing. The standard exceptional with the rooms immaculate and the breakfast substantial well cooked and well presented. The warmth of the welcome was second to none and so important to travellers.
I think Lasten House would make a splendid venue for exclusive weddings the house and the grounds are perfect for the fairytale moment! Good Luck with everything you do! You deserve it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hallam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our 4 night stay at Laston House was lovely from start to finish. Greg and Abi are friendly and informative hosts and we couldn't fault their restaurant recommendations! Our room was very comfortable and the lounge to relax and read books in was an added bonus. The location was perfect - parking immediately outside and a short walk to the harbour. Despite the close proximity to the town Laston House has beautiful private grounds to relax and enjoy the beautiful views. The breakfasts were delicious, not only a full cooked breakfast but pancakes and maple syrup on request as well! We will definitely be returning if we are in the area and will be recommending Laston House to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Address: New Barnstaple Rd, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.