We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest dining in Ilfracombe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seventy One

Seventy One
71 Fore Street, EX34 9ED, Ilfracombe, England
+44 1271 863632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Finest dining in Ilfracombe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really great fine dining-and there is some stiff competition in Ilfracombe. We have tried a good number of the higher rated restuarents in the town but this really did stand out. Decor is fine, service is fien, it's the food which will impress.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    13
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a meal at Seventy One on a Saturday night and my partner and I both agree that this was the best restaurant in Ilfracombe. The portion sizes were perfect, not too much, not too little and the quality of the food was fantastic. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere was cosy and romantic. We would recommend Seventy One to anyone who is looking for a quality meal and a great atmosphere, its perfect for couples. We will be back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food with a fixed price menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our third visit to this restaurant and the food was very good again. There is a varied choice of about six starters, mains and puddings with specials also available. We all enjoyed every course and we all chose different. The hake was delicious and so well prepared. We have always gone as a family with older children, though mostly the other diners are couples. The staff are friendly and attentive. Will be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janieg2110, Owner at Seventy One, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great service - a gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Trying to find a restaurant in Ilfracombe to accommodate 14 people for Sunday lunch in December wasn't easy....and then I happened upon the Seventy One website. Food looked great so I thought I'd book it. Turns out the restaurant doesn't normally open on Sunday lunchtimes, however as we were a large party they made a special dispensation for us. And are we glad the did!

The restaurant is small, but welcoming, warm and friendly. Jane looked after us as if we were guests shed invited herself. The food was just wonderful.....every single course. And the prosecco was just yummy too.

I can't recommend this place enough. Give it a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lovely food, great staff and just amazing overall! Prosecco is amazing and reasonably priced. Would recommend this restaurant every day of the week. My food was amazing but had food envy over everyone else's dishes! Yum.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventy One also viewed

 

Been to Seventy One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seventy One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.