We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adele's Cafe

Adele's Cafe
8 Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX349EE, England
01271 867238
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 95 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Disappointing visit to Adele's, food very mediocre and certainly not as good as previous trips. Service ok but won't be rushing back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    31
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Super little Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is all that seaside cafes should be, it is clean, friendly with a good cafe menu, friendly staff and the (nearly always) present dog who lays quietly on the stairs treating all with equal disdain! Don't expect haute cuisine but you should get, as we did, straight forward cafe food well presented at a very reasonable price - and with a cherry smile and greeting - a little gem

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“weekday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Tired dog greets you with supreme indifference on the stairs. Staff really friendly, and greet you with a smile. Food really tasty, and filling. We didn't have room for dessert!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb - that is all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wandering around Ilfracombe on a Saturday morning looking for a breakfast that would fortify us for the day's walk to Croyde we came across Adele's. It looked OK but my "companion" was dubious about getting a good cup of coffee. "We can always have tea and get proper coffee later" I suggested. "Anyway, they do cafetieres" I pointed out...

We went in and asked for a large cafetiere of strong coffee and we got one. Rarely, if ever, have I tasted such good coffee. And the food was pretty wonderful also. You'd need to go a long way to find an English breakfast as good as this. Add to this the friendliness of the staff and the all round pleasantness of the surroundings and you have somewhere that is quite exceptional

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wish we'd found it sooner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

lovely little cafe, loads of choice, fantastice service and gorgeous food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adele's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Adele's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adele's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.