We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Take Thyme Fish Restaurant

Take Thyme Fish Restaurant
1 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9ED, England
+44 1271 867622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located not 50 yards from Ilfracombe Harbour, Take Thyme Restaurant provides fresh local fish, Exmoor steak and home-made dishes. We also have vegetarian and gluten free options.
Stone, Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This restaurant is a must, it's small but lovey, the fish was amazing and so were the home made deserts, staff vey friendly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    43
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Notts. U.K
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Went on recommendation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went on a recommendation from our hostess and glad we listened. Booked stable for our wedding anniversary whilst we were on holiday and had a lovely meal. Fish superbly cooked and all accompaniments fresh and local. Home made puddings a treat so save room. Would recommend and would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were only in Ilfracombe for one night but I was determined to have fresh fish, my boyfriend is so keen on fish so when we spotted this small restaurant doing both fresh fish and exmoor steak it seemed to good to walk past. We spotted the last table and the waitress gladly laid it for us. It was very busy so we had expected to wait awhile for our food but to our surprise it all came out really quickly. The food was amazingly. I had the Sardines and Sole which were beautiful, delicate and cooked to perfection. My boyfriend had Crab Cakes and a Steak and we both decided the Steak was actually up there with the best we have ever tasted. Good food, good wine and the opportunity to talk to the owners at the end of our meal made for a wonderful evening. Thank you Take Thyme.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed in ilfracombe for just one night and this restaurant was recommended by our host. Great friendly service, not too expensive but most of all beautiful food. They really know how to treat their customers well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Lovely little restaurant - you need to book! Gorgeous seafood (and wine!) - this is a must visit restaurant in Ilfracombe.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Take Thyme Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Take Thyme Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Take Thyme Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.