We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like a sweet, coconut curry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Spice

Asian Spice
36 Greenclose Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8BT, England
01271 862 010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 95 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Akrotiri, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great if you like a sweet, coconut curry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Asian spice is a nice little Indian restaurant, also offering take-away food. There is a good range of curries available, and a nice, reasonably-priced wine list. Generally, there's no need to book a table in advance. The staff are friendly and the food is well cooked. We just found both the korma and passanda dishes very sweet, choc-full of creamed coconut. If you like sweet, mild curries, this is the place for you!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    9
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take away for 24 people...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I spoke to the guys at Asian Spice before our holiday in Ilfracombe about a takeaway for a large group and they were great. Rather than ordering specific dishes, I asked if they could provide a good selection of mains, sides, breads and rices and that's exactly what they did. The food arrived on time, was hot and fresh and the selection was great. There was something for everyone and all of the dishes were delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to to recommend Asian Spice - espicially if you are looking to feed a large group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Chicken phall curry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice and friendly well dressed staff. Ordered my phall curry but it was very oily and not the best chicken phall meal I have eaten. It was ok though and maybe another dish might have been better. It tasted a bit bland to tell the truth.

I Would go back and try again .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs a good clean ! and awful food .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and myself always used to eat here , and have always enjoyed good service and excellent food . The restaurant now seems to be under new management , and to be honest based on our recent visit we won't be eating here again . The place is dirty and you stick to the carpet the food is awful and bland , and resulted in an awful curry hangover ! Such a shame to see it go down hill the way it has !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great food, awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We really fancied an indian during our stay in Ilfracombe and saw this place. Upon arrival we had to wait about 5 minutes for a table that was already available when we arrived. We were then seated and poppadoms arrived promptly. However from thereon it was downhill. There were only 3 members of staff and it was busy. our drinks came 30 minutes after ordering them and we had to wait ages before we ordered out food. once ordered the food came fairly quickly. However to our surprise one of the curries had a squirt of sweet canned cream of the top which was very unusual. Despite this we did enjoy the food. We then went to pay and one of the waiters walked off with our credit card! we found this disgusting nearly had to chase after him... who knows what he could have done. would not come here again as our local indian is 10x better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Spice also viewed

 

Been to Asian Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.