We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cat stays!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eclectick

Eclectick
26 Fore Street | Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ , England
01271 866 900
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: bloody great place to be
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The cat stays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very lovely evening meal. Catering for vast age differences in our party- from 16 to 81 years so quite a challenge for any restaurant!
Very flexible, respecting our requests to cook starter without alcohol and to move inside when elderly mother felt cold during the meal and we had requested to eat outside to look at the lovely view.
The cat was welcomed by us later on in the evening and is beautiful! Adds to the lovely informal tone of the place.
Will definitely visit again if in Ilfracombe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    11
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quirky...fab cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Best mojitos in the UK.....and I've drank many! Wish we'd had time to eat their too....menu looked yum.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstaple
1 review
“Nan's Birthday Meal....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had heard good things about this restuarant so thought we would give a go for our nan's birthday. However all the good things we had heard didn't materialise. We arrived to order a drink and were greeted by a cat wondering out of the kitchen, not the most hygenic! Next we ordered starters which I have to say were very nice. Then onto the main and this is where things went down hill, four steaks ordered and they all came out incorrecty cooked, all were asked to be cooked medium, meduim to well and all were undercooked. They were rare, one even looking very rare (I know this as the company we were with ran a restuarant), this was sent back and still came out rare again?! Plus on top of this one steak was asked for no sauce which it came out with, another was asked for a seperate sauce and you could tell the standard sauce had been wiped off as some excess could be seen?! The thing is you could understand more if it was busy but we were the only people of the restuarant at this point! After this the service seemed to deteriorate. May I also add deserts were ordered and were very delicous. On top of this the price seemed quiet expensive for the food received, you could understand if the food was of a high standard but it wasn't. This may seem a harsh review but can only base it on what we encountered therefore I don't think we will be returning anytime soon and its a shame as we are local. 2 Stars only afraid.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwissy, Owner at Eclectick, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. we hope you eventually find what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It all started well, lovely quaint restaurant, nice atmosphere. Starters were nice.
Then it all went wrong on Mains!! How with only our table of 6 in ,could they have got it so wrong?? 4 of us had steaks, not one was cooked correctly, we were trying to eat them without comment but with my Mums well done, dripping with blood it was all too much! One steak asked for sauce seperate had the sauce scrapped off it, and another asked for no sauce came out covered. We expected some nice fresh cut chips, but we got some from Wimpys. 5 of us shared 3 bowls of chips, we were told they were large bowls, but then later when a table of 2 sat behind us they had a bowl each?? Perhaps it's who you know.??!!
But .. the steaks were lovely, tender & juicy. It did clearly say steak & chips, but the optimist in me thought ...... £17, you must have at least a salad garnish - but no, it was true to it's word!!
Catalan Stew was more of a puree, with a cremated couton for good measure.
What a shame - we were hoping to have found a place to hang out for our monthy visits and special occasions - but we will have to keep looking :(

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwissy, Owner at Eclectick, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. We hope that you eventually find what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a delicious dinner and really enjoyed our night, the food was cooked to order and extremely tasty, the owner was extremely nice too. Excellent value for money and a nice view- if it's warm enough to sit out on the small roof terrace.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclectick also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Eclectick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eclectick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.