We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon haven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Epchris House to your Saves list
Epchris House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
wolverhampton
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Honeymoon haven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights of our honeymoon at Epchris - either end of a stay on Lundy island. We knew Lundy would be 'basic' and wanted a bit of luxury to offset it, Epchris was the perfect choice.
It is a lovely house, in a great setting and Nicky and Rob couldn't have been more welcoming. The little touches to help us celebrate our honeymoon were really appreciated. We stayed in the Garden Room, which we would well recommend. It is spacious with a large bathroom, both of which are stylishly decorated. There is a small private terrace overlooking Ilfracombe, which was lovely for an early evening drink before setting out for the evening.
Both breakfasts we enjoyed were well cooked and the service throughout couldn't be criticized. There's a good choice, my (new) husband went for the full English, but I had smoked salmon one morning and the kippers on our second day - both lovely.
Nicky and Rob were very accommodating with our car, letting us leave it at the house while we were on Lundy - which not only meant we knew it was safe, but also saved us a small fortune in parking! Again, much appreciated.
All in all, we would certainly recommend Epchris House, and look forward to staying with them again if we're ever back in the area - quite likely, as Rob put my husband in touch with the local dive boat!

Room Tip: Would recommend the Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had never been to this part of the world before, slightly a little hilly for us but the hotel made up for this 100%, we had a fab superior room, and look forward to our breakfast every morning, my only truly criticism would be was that the bed was very hard, and as we stay for a week by the end we were very tired. But if you are thinking of staying in ilfracombe you wouldn't be disappointed in choosing the epchris

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've just returned from a great weekend at Epchris House. We had a lovely Premier King en suite room with views across Ilfracombe. The hosts are really friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, quiet and really comfortable. The breakfast was huge and best of all I had an outdoor swim at the end of September.

Room Tip: We had room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spending time in North Devon to enable my husband to complete another section of the South West Coastal Path we opted to stay in Ilfracombe for a few nights. When looking for highly rated accommodation my first port of call is always to visit Trip Adviser, so no hesitation when I saw Epchris House rated number 1. Luckily I managed to book 3 nights as their website looked so tempting, even a lovely pool can you believe. Lovely warm welcome from Nicky & Rob & our room was beautiful we were in room 4 which overlooks the terrace & lovely garden. So much love & effort has been put into Epchris House it is a joy to behold, Quiet & peaceful so a good nights sleep guaranteed. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked & presented & so much choice, set you up for the day.

Another great bonus is not only is there an Honesty Bar but our room also had a "Mini Bar" fridge the prices of all the drinks were very reasonable too.
It takes about 15 to 20 minutes to stroll down into town for an evening meal, but taxi's are plentiful & not expensive should you decide not to walk. We ate in some lovely restaurants, the first night in The Olive Branch, second night in Basil's both of which are down in Fore Street. & our last night at Giovanni & Luca Italian restaurant, the details of these restaurants are shown in Nicky's Eating Out Guide, excellent food in all establishments. Just a tip, do check their opening times as some were closed on Mondays & Tuesdays when we were there.

So don't hesitate, do stay at Epchris House you will have a lovely time.

Room Tip: Room 4, overlooks the Terrace & Garden, lovely views & very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Part of our wedding party (including the groom the night before the wedding), stayed here and everyone agreed it was a fantastic B&B.
Nicky was incredible from the moment of booking to checking out - nothing was too much trouble.
The house itself is beautiful and the swimming pool is great!
Thanks again to everyone at The Epchris for making us and our guests feel so welcome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Part of a large party staying here for my friend's son's wedding and her subsequent 60th birthday bash! Nothing was too much trouble for Nicky, Rob and Jack all of whom made us feel very welcome and relaxed for our entire stay. Rooms were of high quality and the breakfasts excellent. Patio and pool areas made it all perfect for such a large group and the weather in the early part of the week was the icing on the cake! However, my husband and I stayed on for the rest of that week and, despite the rain, had a great time - thanks to vg recommendations on coffee shops,places of interest etc - oh, and a great golfing umbrella loaned by Epchris House!! We would definitely return to Epchris if we were in Devon...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A large party of us stayed at Epchris house in August in the run up to my son's wedding at Tunnels Beaches. Nicky and family are so welcoming and provide a very comfortable home from home atmosphere in the most beautiful surroundings. The day after the wedding (magical day) we had my 60th birthday celebrations which Nicky helped to organise by arranging for caterers to come in, while husband Rob manned the bar. We were very lucky with the weather - in spite of forecasts to the contrary - an added bonus as the grounds of the house are stunning and we were able to relax by the pool and enjoy the gardens and patio to the full. All in all a most memorable stay with Epchris house providing the perfect backdrop for two special family occasions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epchris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.