We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Epchris House to your Saves list
Epchris House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great location 5 mins walk to the town, some great restaurants near by recommended by Nicky.

I stayed here with my husband and 2 other couples. All rooms were large, spotlessly clean and comfortable some with great views

Fantastic cooked breakfast, nothing too much trouble :)

Lovely, friendly, family run guest house

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Only stayed at the Epchris for a weekend but will be back for longer. Lovely Guest House in beautiful grounds. Clean, bright, well furnished, comfortable room with views over the beautiful gardens. Fantastic Hosts who were so very welcoming. Breakfast was well cooked fresh produce with plenty of choice. Ample parking and near enough to the town if you fancy a walk. Just Loved It.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Can't think of a bad thing to say about this small hotel. It was excellent! Lovely, friendly proprietors, fantastic room, great facilities and jolly good cooking! Would recommend this place every time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We found Epchris house to be perfectly situated in Ilfacombe, tucked away in an ideal spot, nice and quiet yet only five minutes walk from stunning coastline.
On arrival we were greeted with a smile by Nicky who made us feel very welcome.Our room was spotlessly clean and well presented.The bedroom had everything we could need and a well stocked refreshment tray. Had a great nights sleep every night as the bed was sooooooo comfy.
Breakfast was relaxing and the food was excellant with lots of choice. It was all cooked to our likeing.
Staying at Epchris house added so much to our holiday. Our number one choice for Ilfracombe. Our thanks to Nicky, Rob and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. The owners did all they could from start to finish to make sure we had all that we needed. Room was spotlessly clean and we had an attached but separate room for our daughter which was great. Breakfasts were excellent. We would have no hesitation in recommending it and hope to go back ourselves for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed at Epchris House for a short 2 day break, and the owners were so accommodating. It is a beautifully renovated victorian house that still retains the lovely features with a fresh clean and modern finish - situated in a lovely area of Illfracombe with delightful views from all aspects which can also be admired from the south facing terrace which was very enjoyable. It is only a 5 minute walk to the town centre and the beach. Breakfast and service was great, plenty of parking (as parking by the beach or harbour is expensive) Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Have recently returned from a stay at the Epchris Guesthouse which we found through a search on the net. We really enjoyed our stay here and were well looked after by the owners and their family. The rooms were very clean and the food was excellent. Do not be fooled by the lack of reviews of this GH on the web, The current owners only took it over this year having run another successful GH. The website is very accurate, the photographs reflecting the accommodation. We would stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epchris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.