We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gendarmerie

La Gendarmerie
63 Fore St, Ilfracombe EX34 9ED, England
01271 865984
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 95 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were only spending a short time in Ilfracombe and were recommended this restaurant by several people. We arrived fairly late to our reservation but the staff were not at all troubled and accommodated us immediately. The restaurant itself is in a lovely restored police station, recently renovated to create a great atmosphere. Being the picky foodies that we are, we didn't really fancy everything on the menu but the chef, Paul, kindly offered to give us a taster menu of 5 courses. A lovely evening and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

For a special meal, this place takes some beating! We have eaten here several times and always been impressed but this time it was even better. Excellent food, better than some Michelin starred restaurants, great wines, lovely service and a great atmosphere. Really delicately-flavoured dishes - beef shin ravioli, crispy truffled egg, creamy slow-cooked shoulder of lamb, fabulous cheeses and great financier dessert. Really could not have asked for any better. We keep thinking we should sometimes try other places for those 'really special' meals but we just can't bring ourselves to since it is so good here. Well done please please keep it up!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“really special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arrived at approx 7.oo pm on an attrocious wet night, we were greeted by the co-owner straight away and the ambiance soon made us forget the outside. The owners have had 10 years now to create a superb , intimate restaurant,from the former town police station. The decor, lighting,soft music and immaculate glass and tableware, all help to suggest you are in for a special meal. As the vast majority of reviews on this site suggest the food is superb, my wife had crab bisque ,followed by monkfish&pollock with mussels,prawns,and chorizo in a delightful jus ,whilst i started with hamhock terrine with fois gras and prunes ,followed by the same main course. After just the right pause to finish an excellent Pouilly Fume we were presented with a complimentary desert taster ,followed by our chosen desert of apple pudding with calvados ice cream which was sublime. Coffee and complimentary cognacs followed ,as it was our Wedding anniversary. Before our taxi arrived we spent time chatting to Head chef/owner Paul, and Sarah his wife, and front of house manager. This was one of those evenings that will stay with us for many years , cant wait until we return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have been here 3 times now and are never disappointed. Excellent food and service, we will certainly continue to spoil ourselves by eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Exceedingly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although visually satisfactory, the food was exceedingly disappointing. Having read previous reviews (which persuaded us to visit), we expected an amazing experience, but the food was poor/average, the service resembled that at a low-cost eaterie and the value for money was very poor.
This was one of the most disappointing meals that we have ever eaten, since our expectations were high but were absolutely not met.
My 'leek & potato veloute' was so bland that it was like drinking warm milk. My companion's 'carpaccio of organic salmon' was "OK". My 'corn-fed chicken' was "average" and no better than that served at any of a dozen far-cheaper and less pretentious restaurants. My companion's '8 hour pork belly' was again rated as just "OK". My 'cinnamon & apple financier with calvados ice cream' lacked flavour, and my ompanion's 'dark chocolate truffle with salted caramel ice cream & praline' was so bitter that we both found it unpleasant.
The portions were small (not unexpected), since we expected to be wowed by the flavours, not by the quantities, but I had ample space to sample the cheeses. Roquefort, brie, a goat's cheese and a hard cheese (I can't remember what it was) were all pleasant enough, but by far the best part of the whole meal was the accompanying chutney, which was stunningly good. Frankly, that's what we'd hoped to be able to say about every single dish. One flop might have been acceptable, but a succession of disappointments was not.
I can only repeat that this was one of the most disappinting meals that I have ever eaten, and I never intend to revisit to see whether this was merely an 'off day'.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gendarmerie also viewed

 

Been to La Gendarmerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gendarmerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.