We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“weekend break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights on a self drive weekend break,arrived early afternoon reception friendly,our room(number 8)double room overlooking main road above the entertainment room,not at all noisy no disturbed sleep.The room was clean and newly refurbished although very dark in colour,which made the room feel small and abit drab as the furniture was also dark.The hotel has 103 bedrooms with only 5 having a bath,our room was not one of them,large bathroom with a walk in shower.
Dinner was included for each night,good choice of food,also breakfast was good.
A very large building with a huge dining room,enough staff to serve meals,who were also friendly.
Evening entertainment was on each evening,comedian and singers also bingo on 2 evenings.
We had a drinks voucher for Saturday evening,a voucher for 4 drinks each-with quite a selection that you could drink.
The hotel very well situated in Ilfracombe as the town is not that large,would recommend using the bus(bus stop outside of hotel)lovely scenery on the double decker bus.
I wouls stay there again and recommend to o

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments.
Your feedback is very valuable to us.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we
offer an excellent package with good food, brilliant service
and great entertainment.
Once again, thank you for your excellent feedback and we hope
to see you again in a near future, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
or at any of the other fantastic destinations th.at Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    165
    84
    23
    18
See reviews for
40
245
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

very friendly staff and very helpful my husband was on crutches and using a wheelchair where necessary and the staff made it so much easier and all with a smile. The food was also very nice and plenty of choice

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Christine H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you experienced the high standards of service that we have here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. As you said, all members of staff work really hard to provide the best possible service, and I am happy our customers appreciate it.
I will personally pass your lovely comments to the staff.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your positive review, and we hope to see you again in a near future, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a terrible place service bad food very poor avoid if you can room very noisy we asked for a quiet one it and they could not even get that right it was a national holiday we have been with them before but it seems they have lowered there standards I will not be booking with them again not until they get their act together

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
All reviews are very welcomed and will help us to improve where needed.
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and
Here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, all members of staff, work really hard to make sure our customers have a good time. We are very proud of our standards in all aspects, food, service, entertainment..., and the vast majority of our customers enjoyed their stay with us, as we can see by the good reviews we are getting all the time.
Once again, I would like to thank you for your review and for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

went to the dilkhusa hotel in November a 5 day break with shearings we were on the 4th floor and the lift only goes to the 3rd floor but its not that bad to get to he 4th floor from the 3rd our room was cold when we arrived I reported the radiator the following morning and while we were out the maintenance man must have repaired it because when we came back it was piping hot so the room was ok after that our telly was small and could only get 5 channels but when your away you don't really bother about tv the room was clean but small bed was comfortable but the pillows were hard I found it hard to sleep because of this the food was lovely couldn't fault it entertainment was good bingo quiz then a turn but the best thing for us were the trips round ilfracombe so much scenery to see and you must visit the big sheep that was very entertaining and a laugh and lastly our driver andy who was brilliant and had so much knowledge about ilfracombe I would go again and I would stay at the dilkhusa but maybe take my own pillar

Room Tip: upgrade if you can heard they have more room in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Toby33,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed Ilfracombe, and I will pass your lovely comments to the staff and to Andy (driver).
It is very nice to get feedback from customers as it is a great tool to help us improving where needed and also to keep staff motivated.
Once again, thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in a near future, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have just returned from a five day stay at the Dilkhusa Hotel and have nothing but praise for the Staff. After a bad trip down due to an accident on the M5 that held us up for two hours everything after that was fantastic. The hotel is one of the first that we have been to that has had an upgrade and it shows. The waitress at our table 15 was a very pleasant young lady and was efficient at all times. The room we had was 315 and Donna kept it clean and tidy every day. The entertainment each night was good and the bar staff worked really hard to serve and kept a good pint. Only one point we would raise with the management would be for a shelf in the bathroom. We had one of the best drivers we have ever had on our trips by the name of Nigel who did not waffle on about things but kept us well informed about all aspects of the area and had a good knowledge of all the places we visited and took us to a place called the Big Sheep that was very entertaining. We would visit this hotel again and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and also for visiting us. Your excellent feedback is very welcomed and once again, shows that all the hard work and training is giving us very positive results and our customers are happy with what we do.
I am glad you enjoyed all the aspects of your holiday and I will personally pass your lovely comments to the staff, especially Donna and Nigel.
Once again, thank you for your excellent review and for coming to visit us, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just back from five days at Bay Dilkusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe. What a great place, how they do it for the price I do not know. The staff are all amazing friendly, polite and helpful, Sara was our waitress and was a joy to see at every meal. Donna was our room attendant and kept our modern comfortable room sparkling. The food was very good, the entertainment very entertaining! The four free drinks every evening were most welcome. Thank you to all the staff for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed our professional and friendly service and I will personally pass your lovely comments to all staff, especially to Sara and Donna.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money with good food, excellent service and great entertainment, and we are very happy you really enjoyed it.
Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having just arrived home from a really enjoyable autumn five day coach holiday with National Coaches staying at the Dilkhusa Grand Hotel I feel I must congratulate all the staff at the Hotel on their effort to make us welcome. Usually one can find some fault to complain about but in this case my friend and I could find little to cause complaint. Our room although on the forth floor was large, clean and warm. The menu was varied and food arrived hot and well presented. Although my friend and I did not see all the in house entertainment on offer from comments made by others it seemed well received. The Hotel issued a card to each guest which entitled us to four free drinks at the Bar or Coffee Bar. The Hotel public rooms were clean, comfortable and tidy. Our room was serviced by Diane who went out of her way to attend to our requests and in the dining room "SPEEDY" SARAH served our table always with a smile. We had informed the Hotel that my friend was diabetic and found on arrival in the dining room that the staff were aware and a special dessert menu had been arranged. If we have any small adverse comment the TV in our room was passed it's sell by date and perhaps we should have been told when booking that the lift only served three floors, .A very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: When booking with National Holidays porterage is not included. (Carry your own case) If one have di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us and for your positive review.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all the staff works really hard to make sure our customers feel welcomed and enjoy their holidays with us.
It is very nice to read comments like yours and will help the staff to keep motivated.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will personally pass your lovely comments to the staff, especially to Sara and Diane, whom I am sure will be very happy knowing that, once again, our customers enjoyed their stay with us.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.