We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could have been so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at the Dilkhusa. Service was excellent, food was very good. Our room(208), however was a big disappointment. There are cracks in the ceiling, black mould on the bathroom ceiling, paint peeling(almost to the point of non-existence) on all of the windows, and the shower doors were very ill-fitting. Add to that, the television could only get 4 channels, and it all adds up to a not-very-pleasant experience. I would have a very hard time justifiying a recommendation for this hotel.

Room Tip: Cannot recommend rooms in the extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very welcomed.
Thank you for bringing it to my atention and I can assure you that we will take action.
I am glad you enjoyed the service and the food, and I will pass your comments to the staff.
Once again, thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other fantastic destinationas that Shearing has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    165
    84
    23
    18
See reviews for
40
245
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just stayed at the Dilkhusa Grand Hotel with Shearings. We were very impressed with the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the food was excellent. A good choice of menu. Our room was small but well decorated, only criticism was the squeaky floorboards! all the rooms seemed to be suffering with the same problem. Otherwise we were very impressed and enjoyed out stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sara r,
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback will help us to keep working and maintaining the standards that our customers expect.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money, with excellent service, good food and accommodation and great entertainment.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and for such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a Shearings Bay Inclusive self drive break. We found the hotel to be of an excellent standard and very good value. We had a friendly welcome at reception and the receptionist explained the layout of the hotel and directions to our room. She also offered help with our luggage and gave us details regarding car parking. We actually managed to park opposite the front of the hotel on an adjacent street for no cost all weekend. Car parking in the nearby council park is £3.10 per 24 hours.
We had paid £20.00 total for an upgrade to a standard plus room. It was a good size room fitted with modern furniture, comfortable beds and a refitted shower room, the only downside was the view which looked onto an adjacent building which was not very attractive. Our room was very clean which was replicated throughout the hotel.
The restaurant, which we assume must have been fairly recently refurbished, was very pleasant, food was good quality and service excellent by very friendly staff. All the lounge areas and entertainment suite were modern and comfortable and the evening entertainment good, really enjoyed the comedian on Friday night. Service at the bar was always prompt and efficient.
As in previous reports the lift was still not working but this was not a problem for us. Would definitely go back to this hotel and would challenge anyone to get better value, we had full breakfast, dinner and even four drinks per day each and our total price, including upgrade, was £238.00!

Room Tip: Rooms on front, although overlooking road, have views of gardens opposite hotel, higher floors proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear MikeBrawn,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Your positive review is very welcomed, and it will help us to keep working hard and also to keep staff morale high. I will personally pass your lovely comments to the staff, and I am sure they will be very happy knowing that our customers enjoyed their stay and left with good memories.
It is very nice to see our efforts are appreciated and as you said, we offer an excellent value for money with good food, great entertaiment, and very good service.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just before we arrived at hotel the coach driver mentioned that the lift was not working, we just thought he was joking! Apparently not, as we found out from the receptionist. Some people had been informed a few days before but a number of us had not So there was not much we could do about it then, As you can imagine we were quite upset as we could not be given rooms on the lower floors, I am in my sixties and most were a lot older and could not manage the stairs( My husband cannot walk very well due to an operation on his foot, we were put on the fourth floor the top floor!! ) The attitude of the woman on reception left a lot to be desired, it was, "take it up with National Holiday's" not a good start to our stay .We counted the steps up to our room over seventy two!!! We were lucky that our luggage was taken up by some of the staff. Why is it that said lift is still out of use? This is a "Shearings Hotel" and we expected better having stayed in them before. The food was okay and waiters, cleaning staff and entertainment too. Also no shampoo or shower gel provided, even basic bed and breakfast provide these.Shower basic and tiles grubby. Hairdryer very old fashioned. The window in our bedroom was a sash window with no double glazing. The view from our window was awful looking on to other peoples rubbish. It was windy on the first night and it sounded as if window would blow in. The beds were comfy and clean and we had a good nights sleep, but by the time we had got up to the top floor minus lift, this might have had a lot to do with it. We had travelled with a group of friends we all made the best of our short holiday.

Room Tip: If not on ground floor, make sure lift is working. Apart from top floor rooms that we and friends h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which is very welcomed and will help us to improve where needed.
Unfortunately, the lift was out of order and it was beyond our control as the lift company responsible for the repairs, still waiting for the part, which comes from Italy.
Shearings and National Holidays are doing a great job trying to help customers, and we hope to resolve this issue as soon as possible.
Hotel staff are also doing a great job as it is not easy to accommodate 186 customers, especially when the lift is not working.
I am glad you enjoyed the service and accommodation, and that overall you and your friends enjoyed your stay.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other destinations Shearings and National Holidays have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just spent four nights in the Dilkhusa hotel on a Shearings holiday break.The majority of the staff were helpful,the food good but our room almost reduced me to tears.
The bed squeaked and,along with the floorboards creaked every time we moved or walked!
The room in general was clean but so desperately in need of refurbishment along with the bathroom with its peeling wallpaper.
The lift is still out of action,c'mon,after three weeks? Glad it was not my elderly mum trying to climb the stairs.
Just to add insult to injury so to speak,two almost rotten bananas were added to our packed lunch which we bought to eat on the coach on our way home,would not have even been reduced in the shop but binned.

Room Tip: Not room 208 for a romantic weekend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your review is very valuable to us and will help to improve where needed.
We are refurbishing the hotel and bedrooms, and we will look into your comments.
Thank you for bringing it to my attention, and I can assure you that we will take action.
Once again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. Having read previous reviews in which everyone mentioned the lift being out of order why oh why is it not repaired? The average age group of our party must have been about 75, and I felt very sorry watching the elderly people huffing and puffing up the stairs aided by their walking sticks, one gentlemen literally crawled up on all fours, it had to be seen to be believed!.. Sad
We had requested a top room floor, aware that the lift was out of order we had accepted the inevitable climb up 89 steps total (we counted them ). The room was adequate for the price payed, was quiet and away from the noise of the bar and entertainment.
The food most nights was palatable and tasty, again due to the 'budget' cost of the hotel our expectations were not that high (having been on a previous Shearing Holiday). Must add here, the mashed potato provided with one meal was revolting,lumpy and unseasoned.. Avoid at all cost!!! Puddings were lovely - breakfasts adequate but small portions - I understand people's appetites may not be enormous and smaller portions are offered to avoid waste, but a little more generosity on portion sizes would be appreciated.
The staff were helpful and polite, apart from the last morning (a busy time of course with the need to load coaches within a limited time) - however I did not appreciate being told to 'move out of the way' by a member of Shearings (I think), so that the second double door could be opened.
Ilfracombe itself was a usual seaside town, I felt it was a little grubby and run down in need of some loving care, sadly a sign of our times, when it is cheaper to go abroad these days and the sun shine can be more of a guarantee
Damien Hirst statue in the harbour is worth a visit, smaller than I expected - I still can't work out how or why it has been placed in Ilfracombe harbour other than the artist lives locally
Overall, if you can accept this is a standard Shearings holiday, a slightly run down hotel in need of some tender loving care, run by staff who work very hard for their money who's sole purpose seems to be to please wherever possible, then you will appreciate and enjoy this holiday to the full

Room Tip: Lower floored rooms if you have trouble with mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed the food and service. As you said, all members of staff work really hard and always try to help our customers.
Regarding the lift, still out of order as we are waiting for engineers to get the part needed to repair it. Unfortunately, the part comes from Italy and they closed the factory for the whole month.
As you can see, it is beyond our control, and our Reception staff, and the whole of Shearings are doing a great job trying to help customers when possible.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a 3 night break 6th -8th September, and were really looking forward to it as my husband has been ill this summer. From the outside the hotel looked fine, but unfortunately we arrived at the same time as a Shearing's Coach holiday. We were "lost" in the middle of all that and had to wait for attention at reception. We had not realised, when booking, the hotel, mostly dealt with coach trips.As independent visitors, we almost felt out of place. The lift was broken, which did not help. Thankfully we had a room on floor 1, room 105. The room was very small, bathroom awful ,light broken (we did mention it) and it was VERY noisy at night from the music downstairs. Bit fed up with the entertainment being Bingo every night! The food, however, was great , compliments to the chef. Just a shame the dining room was so cramped, and set up like a cafe with no ambience for a couple, hoping to have a nice meal. In fact we were so rushed eating our food, I was still finishing my mouthful, when our plates were taken and asked what we wanted next. A little "breathing" time would have been nice. In fact, we had a 3 course meal and wine, in half an hour.!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view, if they have one. We overlooked a room and back yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed the food and the service.
Our hotel is part of Shearings, and belongs to Bay Brand, which offers and excellent value for money with good food, excellent service and great entertainment.
If you are looking for something more relaxing, with low key entertainment, different ambience, I would recommend our Coast and Country Brand.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again, in a Bay Hotel or in one of our Coast and Country ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.