We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sheila ann” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
INCLUSIVE DEALS FROM £109
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Ilfracombe
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sheila ann”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Room was on ground floor,
and small,but plenty
of wardrobe and drawer space,very clean,and comfortable beds,bathroom was large and need updating, and a table or chair to put clothes and toiltries on would be nice in the bathroom as well.But i must say staff were brilliant,friendly and helpful,we had a lovely lady who cleaned our room,Jackie (P),food and entertainment was good,we enjoyed our 5day stay in and out side hotel,enjoyed meeting locals by the harbour,and the walks.

Room Tip: double rooms larger than twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sheila Ann,

Thank you very much for your positive review, it is a great
pleasure to see that our customers enjoyed their stay
with us.
Also, it is nice to see members of staff mentioned on your
review, and I will personally pass your comments to Jackie P.
Once again, thank you for coming to our hotel, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Have a reallt nice summer season.
Yours sincerely
Pedro Anzules
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    126
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
29
190
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice and is right on the front so just a 5 minute walk to the harbour and shops, it overlooks the lovely gardens and is on the flat so no hill walking unless you want to!!

The food was very good, as always in Bay Hotels but the service was a little slow. The Waiter was forgiven for slow service as he was so polite and friendly and the hotel was full to capacity, also we were on holiday so not in a rush.

The room was nice and clean and amazingly very well soundproofed, no outside noise at all so a good nights sleep had by all. We did have the cleaner waiting outside at 8.30am wanting to get in and clean so we went to breakfast a bit earlier than planned but it was nice to come back after breakfast and relax knowing we would not be disturbed again all day.

The entertainment room suffers what some other Bay Hotels suffer from and that is restricted views for the entertainment. If you have your tea early then you can get a decent seat but we do like to eat quite late so had to sit in front of a pillar!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will probably go again if the weather ever gets any warmer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and positive review.
As you said, The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel is in the heart of Ilfracombe, just five minutes walk from all the ammenities (harbour, sea front, gardens...). Ilfracombe is becoming a popular place, and once we get a better weather, which I am sure will in few days, Ilfracombe becomes an even better place to spend your holidays.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will pass your comments to all staff.
Thank you once again for your review, which really help us to keep working hard and also keeps the staff motivated as they can see that their hard work gets recognised and appreciated.
We hope to see you soon travelling to us or to any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although we had an enjoyable 5 days, the room we were allocated (room123) was damp and smelt musty and had a de-humidfier in it working at full tilt.We complained and was told the room should not have been used that week due to the ongoing work being carried out on the exterior of the building. We were offered another room which was adequete and my wife was presented with a bouquet of flowers and a box of chocolates for the inconvenience caused. (Pedro your a gem, what a nice thought) The hotel and food are good, but the staff are rushed off their feet and could hardly cope. Some of the rooms do need a bit of TLC and the elevator should be in a museum.All in all not a bad few days, but could do without the initial hassle.

Room Tip: If you do have a problem with your room, get it sorted quickly or you could be left out if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear David R,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments; as I explained during your stay, we made a mistake with your room allocation, and again, I would like to apologise for it.
Room 123 is in the proccess of being refurbished and soon will be up to the high standards that we all expect from Shearings.
I am glad you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the food and the service taht we provided, and I hope to see you again travelling to us in the future.
Please give my regards to your lovely lady, and once again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A nice happy place to stay.
Stayed 25 march to 29 March 2013,weather very cold but fine.Our room 305 was at back,no view,but that did not matter as we were out with our coach driver Nigel who was excellent with lots of local knowledge as he lives here.
Our cosy room had been recently refurbished ,had all mod coms ,very clean,nice and warm as an extra heater was provided.The twin beds had very comfortable mattresses.
I cannot speak for other rooms but I understand Bay hotels are refurbishing their old hotels on an ongoing basis.
Mobility could be a problem if you are not aware of the many stairs !!The lift takes only four people ,is ancient but works OK-remember to shut the door when you get out!!!
All the staff were a credit to Management,Local,Spanish,Portugese etcFood was perfectly OK with enough choice Our Waiter Ricardo was a real smiley young man!
The Bar staff are great quick and professional.Our Deal included 4 drink vouchers per person per day-brand drinks included.A G &T counted as 1 drink.Also 2 vouchers and £4.00 could get an OK bottle of red/white/rose wine normally around £15.00.I speak from experience!Oh you have use thr vouchers on a daily basis.If you dont use you it you loose it.
Entertainment was provided on every evening.As this is personal choice I always leave it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time
to post your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good
experience.
All the staff work hard to make our customers welcome
and we try our best to give customers an excellent value for money.
It is very nice to see your positive review and I will personally
pass your comments to the staff.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to
see you again, here at The Dilkhusa or at any of the
others destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a great weekend. Hotel nice, the food was generally excellent except the loin of pork was a bit too thin and the plaice was a little disappointing. Staff were friendly, smart and it was nice to have one of the staff give some history of the place. The restaurant staff manners were excellent and it was nice to have a pleasant smile and a friendly greeting. The entertainment was good and the compare was pleasant and very good. Bar service was very good. The rooms were all good and all in all we would recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Brett N,

Thank you very much for your review and also for taking the time to post it. Everytime customers post comments on trip advisor, it help us to keep improving and making The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel an ideal place to spend your holidays.
We are very pleased you had a nice time and we would like to thank you for coming and spending Easter with us.
As you say, staff are doing a great job and it is nice to be recognise by our customers.
I will personally pass your positive comments to all staff.
We hope to see you again travelling to us or to any of the others destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First time with shearings and in ilfracombe, Overall an enjoyable holiday, room was small but clean and warm. The staff were very nice and friendly, in the restaurant they were very busy indeed I have never seen serving staff move so quickly. The food was ok nothing to write home about, portions small, enough for me but maybe not for some men. Really enjoyed the entertainment the resident dj/compere was very good, funny and entertaining, having 4 free drinks per person each night helped with the bar bill as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your
comments to the staff.
As you said, we offer a good value for money with a great
entertaiment, good food and excellent service.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see
you again here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the
other destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

spent 5 days here with shearings hotel in nice position for shops and the harbour the hotel was clean if a little dated in places the room was small but warm and comfortable only grip with the room was the bathroom didn't have any where to put toiletries and no light over mirror or shaver point anywhere but to be fair the welcome pack did say you could get shaver plugs from reception.
the breakfast was nice and I have to say the sausage was the best I have had in any bay hotel, the evening meals were tasty and varied, the staff were friendly and helpful and the entertainment was good everyone had a good time. The only real down side was there isn't any wifi at the hotel you had to walk down the street to a cafe but at the time of year was not open. There were 2 outings included in the cost one was to the big sheep which most people were not keen on until they got there and then really enjoyed the show they put on it was educational and very funny well worth going to see, also there were extra outings but for £3.25 you could get a day rider ticket for the bus and travel all day which we did. Over all this break was well worth the money and we wouldn't hesitate going again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
First of all, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Also, I would like to thank you for your positive review and lovely comments, which I will personnaly pass to the staff.
We are glad you enjoyed Ilfracombe and your stay with us. Your positive comments are very welcomed and give us a very positive feeling about what we are doing and how we are improving our standards, and also help us to improve where needed.
Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer, especially during the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel to your Saves list