We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Osborne Hotel to your Saves list
The Osborne Hotel
Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was a guest staying at this hotel in November ! It was lovely and friendly from the minute you walked in through the door. Yes some of the guests where elderly, but they certainly knew how to enjoy themselves! The food was great and plenty of it. I found the hotel to be very clean & spotless. The entertainment was varied and very good. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    41
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
40
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is very poor indeed. It is very dated, mismatched carpeting, poor decorative state and DIRTY. Paper peeling off walls, dirty floor in the bathroom and dirty bathroom fittings (see photos). Dirty sellotape from old notices left on the walls. How this ever got its good reviews is beyond my comprehension. Breakfast was poor, but the waiter was lovely, which is the only good point about out stay here. It reduced me to tears, no mean feat I assure you. To add more misery it was full of coach parties of elderly people. We are no spring chickens ourselves, but we were surrounded at breakfast by several dozen very old people. We certainly felt that all the staff's attention was on the coach loads and we were an inconvenience. We couldn't wait to go out for the day and returned reluctantly at night to sleep. Luckily the surrounding area was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed other aspects of our short holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, we were though upset to read the contents of it. Having looked at the comments you make, the only ones we feel worthy of response are;

a) The hotel being 'DIRTY' - It is not dirty. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and our housekeeping team work hard to achieve the high level of hygiene and cleanliness we as owners expect. Infact this is an area we get highly recommended on! The photographs you've added to your review of your bathroom suggest there is mould along the tiles - it's actually a tiny gap between the tiles and the seal around the bath! The display of suggested dirt/dust on the floor is faded patterned linoleum. Thebathroom of your room has since been refurbished, but please note this was completed before we received your review two days ago.

b) Favouritism of coach guests - We find this very hard to believe as we respect and take time to get to know ALL our guests irrespective of their age, race, religion or the mode of transport that brings them to the hotel! If though you felt there was favouritism shown then we can only appologise, it certainly wasn't intentional.

A final aspect of the review that as owners we'd like to raise is why has it taken you almost four months to write the review (as you stayed here last September)? Also if you were so 'upset' as your review suggests why were your concerns not brought to our attention while you were here when we would have had the opportunity to address them with you?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Yes the building is somewhat old but for an old fashioned welcome you couldn't ask more.

Took my parents for a turkey and tinsel week pre - christmas, the hotel was warm clean and welcoming, the food tasty and filling, the entertainment "corny" in such a good way.

A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A fantastic time. Best New Year ever. The karaoke night on New Year's Day was so much fun. Everyone joined in and Nick was a superb host and he made sure everyone had a great time.
When we first arrived I must admit I thought the hotel was way past its' sell-by date but the fun we had far outweighed the downside.
Food was adequate but not very inspiring.
The memories will last for many years to come!
Well done Nick and all the family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been travelling to The Osbourne Hotel for 8 years now and again find myself completely satisfied that the best time possible was had by all who were there! The welcome was superb, on arrival all guests were directed to the bar area for tea/coffee & cakes while the staff delivered luggage to the room. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and comfortable and a complimentary bowl of fruit. The staff are all superb, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food cooked by Stuart was top notch, much better than a large portion of hotels I visit! plenty of it and using fresh produce, a rarity in the all to familiar ready made bought in rubbish that most hotels use these days! Every night you walk away with a full belly and satisfied taste buds! The entertainment was first class all three nights, the family went all out as usual to make the stay in their hotel a great experience! Nick's Kareoke "Osbourne Style" was excellent, you can't find a more dedicated and talented entertainer if you searched the whole of England! As always the head of the family Sandy makes everything gel together with her big smile and welcoming way that instantly makes you feel part of the family. A big thanks to all at the hotel for the best new year yet! Can't wait to visit again and spend more time with old friends! keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBognor Regis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for only 2 nights but wish it had been longer. We have stayed at many hotels in the area but The Osborne beats the lot! , we will be returning for a longer stay later in the new year. Thank you to Nick and all his staff for making our stay so enjoyable in every way.
Cant wait to see you all again.

Room Tip: Just say what you want and if available, you'll get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for a few nights, overall the service was good, entertainment was very good, food was also good, the only downside was the standard of the room, this I feel could do with some refurbishment & then it would be an excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Osborne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.