We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Britannia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royal Britannia to your Saves list
The Royal Britannia
Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here one night in May. Rooms are above a pub but I didn't notice any noise from down stairs. The room was basic but nice enough. The only down side was the bed being a bit sinky in the middle. Otherwise it is in a good spot close to the harbour with a brewery down the street and ice cream shops across the road. Free parking is available about 100m down the road. Overall good value for money!

Room Tip: There are a few doors in the hallways which bang closed, try to avoid rooms next to these doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    45
    20
    14
    17
See reviews for
27
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I haven't stayed in any of the hotel rooms but I know a few people who do and I haven't heard any complaints. I do, however, often visit the downstairs pub and I always have a good time when I go. The staff are very friendly/accommodating and they have two pool tables you can play pool at. Plus the back smoking area offers a stunning view of the boats in the harbour, so for that alone I highly recommend you check this place out while visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights with some friends. The room and bathroom were well presented, warm and clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. Breakfast was good and hearty.

Yes the place needs some updating but that is clearly being addressed with work nearly complete on a brand new wooden staircase.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is great seating overlooking the pretty harbour.

The hotel offered good value for money and so long as you do not go expecting 5 star quality you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited the first time on a special offer and had a lovely time.
We went back on the same special offer but had to cancel due to illness.
The owner let us rebook at no extra cost and added a Saturday night to our booking at a really good price and upgraded our room for both nights.
We love the old local feel to the place, good cider, dart board and pool table and a good hearty breakfast.
It's nothing 'special'.......but a nice cosy place to stay...good value....and very friendly.
Oh and it's right on the harbour so perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Royal britania is a friendly warm environment with a great atmosphere and good valie for money definitely recommend it to friends staff are welcoming and are always eager to help and are very chatty the locals are also chatty and friendly will definitely be goin again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We are locals, and often go down for a game of pool, we had a curry to night and it was vert good quality, lovely food and bog portions !! Thestaff are welcoming and very friendly and help you as much as they can. Deffnatly can't wait for the summer to be sat out in the lively garden over lookin the beach, Stacey && Stephen

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in The Britannia over the past 2 weeks and I couldn't fault it, if I faulted it I wouldn't have kept on staying, it's a quirky and old which I think is good :) the location is good as it out of the way from the town and is right next to the harbour which sets the seen,
Big Thanks to Kyle and Megan for welcoming me there, easy to approach and talk too, had a few laughs too. Both great bar/hotel staff,
I LOVES ETTTTTT

Tom The Tiler

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Britannia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.