We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Central and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend at short notice and got a good price. On arrival I was offered a choice of a room with a shower or a bath, and I took the one with a bath. The Carlton is in a quiet road, but lies only a short walk from the town centre and beaches, as well as being close to bus stops serving a variety of nearby locations. The lobby of the hotel is full of information about the area, and I often noticed the woman who runs the place advising guests about things to see our do in the area. Breakfast was good and filling, although it was a bit later than I would nave liked over the weekend. Midweek, it's available an hour earlier.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    59
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
39
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotels in order to attend a family birthday, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. The only thing that concerned us was the lift was carpeted on the floor, walls and ceiling, which seemed a little odd and could be considered a fire hazard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for five days and were very impressed with the service and the lovely meals, the bed was so comfortable clean towels every day and the hospitality tray was always full, we would be happy to stay there again, thank you Claire for making our stay a happy one. John and Maxine Trefor.

Room Tip: just explain to Claire what you require and she is so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on the 9th August. We had two rooms and can't believe what a lovely place. The rooms were very clean,tidy everything you could ask for. The full breakfast is a perfect start to the day.The reception staff were so helpful when we arrived.A hotel which ideally place for everything. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Don't be put off by the 2 star rating, this hotel is a little gem. Good value for money, very clean, food nice and the staff were always friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We had room 103 which had a huge bed and TV. The bed was made every day, we had tea making facilities and full sized bath/shower. Special thanks to Clare for assisting with my dietary requirements. We spent four days at the Carlton, we were shooting at the two local grounds and it was a great benefit to be able to use the secure hotel gun room with individual cabinets and additional security. The hotel was a short walk into the town and harbour, and easy access to a good selection of restaurants. Happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 103, huge bed and massive TV, full size bath/shower. Very quiet apart from the seagulls!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding,
Room. Bed was very nice one of the best yet!!

However room was very small for two people,shower was grubby

Full length mirror was inside wardrobe,but couldn't open fully to use as bed was in front.

Food was ok if you like a microwave breakfast.

And it cost me £160 for two nights very very expensive. Would not go back

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staying in this hotel for 4 nights. Very friendly and amenable staff. nothing too much bother.
Room is clean and tidy with usual facilities ,single room even has a bath. Cleaned daily.
Excellent choice of Breakfasts and Evening Meals freshly made . Anything that's not on the menu ,just ask to see if available.
Ideally suited for sightseeing around Ilfracombe and surrounding areas.
Suitably stocked bar and wine list.
Proprietor Claire extremely helpful.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly privately run 2 star fully licensed hotel conveniently situated in the heart of the town. Superior rooms available with Super King sized beds.All rooms have flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, central heating & hospitality tray. Lift serves all floorsWifi available in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.