We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hampton's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Save
You added The Hampton's Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Hidden because I couldn't find it in the dark but was I did I was given a very warm welcome. Bedroom was 'boutique' and very well appointed. Super breakfast - made especially for my early stay with warm croissants. Only downside was the drive on a the 1 in 2 slope .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
60
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed in Chantilly, which had a lovely roll top bath. We enjoyed sitting in the window and looking out at the amazing view.

Breakfast - delicious!

Our hosts - wonderfully welcoming.

This is how all hotels should be run.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great decor, great welcome, great coffee, great advice. Super close to the coastal path. Easy for Croyde, Georgeham and Exmoor. A great stay.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

From the second we arrived at The Hamptons Hotel, we felt a wave of absolute relaxtion take over. The atmosphere is one of utter calm and sophisication whilst being homely and cosy.

We stayed in the Chantilly Room which was truly beautiful. The views were breathtaking. The bed is super-comfy and the decor wonderful. The bath is fab - perfect for two!

My husband and I are real foodies and the breakfast certainly did not disappoint!! Excellent cooked breakfast - and many other options. Paul and Janine are such fantastic hosts. Friendly, knowledgable and easy to be around.

There are some exceptionall restaurants in Ilfracombe - La Gendarmerie and Espresso are a must try! The nightlife is a little on the dodgy side - but to be honest, we went there purely as a quick getaway. Our interest lay in spending time with each other, sampling some fine food (which we definitely did) and coastal path walking - which was utterly fantastic! The coast is rather dramatic and makes for a truly pleasurable and exhilarating experience. Ilfracombe itself is only so-so. It has *such* potential though. As a base to explore North Devon, it's rather perfectly placed.

All in all I would absolutely highly recommend this hotel - and, in fact already have done so to several people - and we only got back yesterday! We fully intend on returning in the winter. A desire to return to a so-so coastal town in the middle of winter?! I think that speaks volumes. Awesome time. Lovely people. Loved every minute of it! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My fiance & I stayed at the Hamptons for a weekend in June & we loved everything about it from location, to decoration, to service!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The decor throughout the hotel was stunning, the room was beautiful, breakfast offered a great choice & great food and the service throughout our stay matched up to the high standards.

We highly recommend the Hamptons to anyone who is looking for a base in North Devon for a special weekend away - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Great Hotel - we stayed for 3 nights in March and were lucky enough to have good weather. Beautiful old building lovingly restored in to a trendy, contemporary but cosy B&B. Couple that run the hotel are great, and happy to give you restaurant recommendations, ideas for things to do, walks etc. Perfect location as only a 10 mins walk in to Ilfracombe, also very close to some great country walks.

Stay in the Chantilly room if you can!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Friendly. Great breakfast. Lovely decor. Great room. Good supply tea/coffe etc in room. Good shower. Good view when eating breakfast. Relaxing sitting room with honesty bar. Good location. Nothing missing! Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hampton's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.