We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business took me here, and I shall return for pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elmfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Elmfield to your Saves list
The Elmfield
Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Business took me here, and I shall return for pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I visited Ilfracombe, and The elmfield as part of a sales trip to the west country. My assistant booked this lovely family oriented hotel. Since returning home I have booked to visit again with my family. The welcome in particular was the warmest I've had anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    57
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
113
124
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Had a lovely time at the Elmfield would have been nice to stay longer. Zoe is a great host. Must try the Gendarmarie restaurant in town, fantastic fine dining wouldnt be out of place in london.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Travelling with children can be tricky, and we opted for the elmfield for their family friendly credentials.
We are used to South Asian 5 star luxury, so did not know nwhat to expect from our English BandB, but my english husband had always wanted to Lundy Island.
The Elmfield is a magical place. We felt totally relax at home liked the pool, although it was a bit smaller than we expect.
Owners very helpful and they let us leave our car for our trip to the island for no charge.
good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here for our annual family holiday this summer. The weather was not brilliant, but the warm welcome and famnily friendly vibe at this lovely place made up for it.
The pool was great. Breakfast was out of this world. The Wii was the hands down clear winner however, keeping all the family entertained - even mum and dad after hours.
going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked to stay at this hotel for a week, but checked out after just one night as the hotel and town were such a huge disappointment. Here follows an excerpt from the letter we sent to The Elmfield on our return. Needless to say we have never received a satisfactory response from the management, even though we were charged for a full week's stay.

"... On arrival at the hotel, we were shown to our room, but were offered no assistance at all to help with our luggage. After a seven hour journey, a warmer and more considerate welcome would have been appreciated. The suite consisted of two adjoining rooms, neither of which had a bath. Bearing in mind you market The Elmfield as a "luxurious boutique hotel", this is simply not the case in fact. The following points illustrate:-

1. Where were the luxurious essentials? A pump soap dispenser does not qualify.

2. Although the rooms themselves were clean and decorated, they were in a very dated style. Boutique?

3. Views of Ilfracombe? Yes including part of a council estate with school children breaking up the swings in the park.

4. Plasma televisions - neither had any reception.

5. The dining area consists of a breakfast/child's play area. Luxurious dining facility?

6. A swimming facility housed in a temporary structure, not open until nearly lunchtime, and even then subject to requirement that the guest prepare it by "pulling back the cover". Luxury feature?

When searching for a suitable luxury hotel in the West Country, the principal draw of The Elmfield for us were your promoted dining credentials. Your website relies upon reviews by former guests praising and indeed lauding the quality of the evening dining. Much promotion is also made of the calibre of " … award winning chef Tom Frost". Yet upon arrival our plans to base our entire stay within the hotel, using it as a 'home from home' to explore the Devon coastline, were completely turned upside down by the confirmation that there was no evening dining. The offer to order takeaway food from Ilfracombe hardly mitigated this fundamental failing.

The reality was therefore immediately apparent on our arrival that The Elmfield is not a luxurious boutique hotel, but rather a seaside bed and breakfast establishment. You can thus appreciate the extent of our disappointment and sense that our booking was as a result of a misrepresentation on your part. These sentiments were expressed to yourselves that evening, and motivated our departure first thing the following day."

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelmfield, Owner at The Elmfield, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We are very sad that these guests found The Elmfield disappointing. We are a very small place, and a very small team.

We appreciate that our style of accommodation and service offering does not appeal to everybody, and are always grateful for feedback. We are constantly looking to develop and improve the service we offer to customers where ever possible.

To respond to a few of the specific points raised in the review:

We do not have a footman to carry guests luggage, but we nearly always offer assistance. In this case, the guests had arrived early and unannounced, and we where in the middle of a childrens workshop in the dining room. It was simply not feasible to leave the workshop under facilitated to assist with luggage at that specific time.

We do have a childrens play room, it is located next to the lounge. We do not have a play area in the dining room, but do use the our large sunny dining room for some of our workshops and other activities (as above).

We do not have a restaurant here. We had a restaurant in 2009, but unfortunately we are not of sufficient size to be able to sustain a consistent quality food offering in the evening - as not everybody wants to eat in the hotel every night, no matter how good the chef is. Since our restaurant closed we have been very careful not to advertise the restaurant (obviously) or offer an a la carte restaurant type service, since we had already provided these guests with several recommendations for local family friendly restaurants we assumed that they where aware of the situation. We do provide catering for weddings and other events, and often arrange a bespoke meal upon request.

We would very much encourage anyone interested in The Elmfield to contact us directly and we would be more than happy to honestly describe what we do and do not offer. It is not in our interest to 'misrepresent' ourselves, especially when we put in a great deal of effort to ensure our guests enjoy their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Great hotel with a wonderful atmosphere. Zoe (one of the owners) was exceptionally welcoming, friendly and helpful - our children wanted to take her home with us! Our three small children really felt at home at the Elmfield and this allowed us to relax and enjoy our holiday - many thanks to all. Breakfasts were fantastic and our room was comfortable and stylish. Lovely bathroom amenities but perhaps a power shower should be invested in as we only got a trickle from the showers. The best part was being able to relax in the evening with the children fast asleep and watch a film on the big projector screen in the lounge. A baby sitter was gratefully arranged on the last night and we felt comfortable leaving our children with her as we had been assured that the owners also used the same sitter for their own children. All in all an excellent stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelmfield, Owner at The Elmfield, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
This family where an absolute pleasure. The kind of folk that make running a small family business fun and very enjoyable.
We are really glad they enjoyed their stay here, and of course are grateful for this lovely review!
We do have further renovations planned for winter 2010 and power showers are on the list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Very personal service, breakfast very good. Rooms tastfully decorated and comfotable. Location is good, walking distance into Ilfracombe (uphill on the way back though) and ten min drive to Woolacombe where the beach is brilliant. Zoe and Matt are always on hand to give help and suggestions. Lounge area downstairs is good for relaxing and watching tv on a big screen and also for playing family games late into the night. Swimming pool is brilliant - it is housed in a conservatory type cover so no matter what the weather you can use it. The boys loved it they were the only ones using it most of the time. You will have a wonderful if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelmfield, Owner at The Elmfield, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We're delighted that these guests where able to enjoy all our hotel facilities.
Being a small establishment, having a heated pool is unusual, and guests more often than not have the pool to themselves, which they really like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elmfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmfield

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian villa that combines contemporary style with a classic twist. The Elmfield offers the facilities of a luxury hotel, with the warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere of a friendly family home. There is a fully licensed bar, and games room, and the comfortable family lounge transforms into a cosy cinema in the evening. In the gardens is the pool house with heated swimming pool (Easter - October), and a summer house with terrace offering lovely views of the wilder valley. The grounds run down to a secret garden with fire pit and the soft sound of the stream as a relaxing backdrop. Available for whole house hire or individual room B&B basis. The Elmfield in Ilfracombe offers very competitive packages for exclusive use wedding weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Elmfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Boutique Hotel Ilfracombe
The Elmfield Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elmfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.